Awards Committee

The Waterloo Awards Committee (WAC) was established in 2009. The committee's mandate is to promote and facilitate the submission of high-quality nominations of Waterloo scholars across all disciplines for prestigious awards and honorific titles and to do so through an equity, diversity and inclusivity lens.

Office of Research

Thomas Barber (Staff)

Bernard Duncker (AVP)

Susan Elliott (Co-Chair)

Christina Yee (Staff)


Julie-Anne Desrochers (Staff)

Sharon Kirkpatrick (Faculty)

Steven Mock (Faculty)

Ken Stark (Faculty)


Page Burton

Keith Hipel

Mustafa Yavuz

Carolyn Ren


Andrea Collins

Merrin Macrae

Sandra Ramautarsingh


Kim Arnold

Donna Strickland

Philippe Van Cappellan


Ramona Bobocel

Randy Harris

Douglas Peers

Selena Santi


Hans De Sterck

Wayne Oldford

Tamer Özsu

Brittany Reiche


Terms of reference:

  1. The following members ex-officio:
  • An Associate Vice-President of Research, who shall serve as Co-Chair of the Waterloo Awards Committee
  • A faculty member from the Waterloo Awards Committee, who shall serve as Co-Chair
  • Awards Officer (non-voting position)
  • Secretary (non-voting position)
  1. The following members are appointed by the WAC Co-Chairs, in consultation with the Vice-President, Research & International and the Faculty Deans. In making these appointments, careful consideration is given to the principles of Equity, Diversity and Inclusivity.
  • Two or three faculty members from each of the Faculties: Health; Arts; Engineering; Environment; Math; and Science. Faculty members will serve for a two-year term, renewable once. Upon serving two full terms, committee members are required to be absent from the committee for two years before being eligible to return.  
  • One staff member from each of the Faculties to serve in a continuing basis
  • One executive director of a University Research Centre or Institute
  • Membership terms will commence on September 1, in any given year


  • Encouraging Faculties, Departments, and Schools to actively engage in identifying outstanding candidates for prestigious national and international awards and honorific titles
  • Encourage Faculties, Departments and Schools to nominate candidates for discipline specific awards, particularly for those early in career, not only in recognition of achievement and personal honour, but also for the value of such awards
  • Ensuring Deans, Chairs, and Directors are aware of such awards and titles, the eligibility criteria, application procedures, and submission deadlines
  • Nominating exceptional faculty members for prestigious national and international awards and honorific titles
  • Working with Deans, Chairs, Directors, and Nominees to ensure that nominations/applications are of the highest possible quality and are submitted in accordance with specified deadlines
  • Ensuring that nominations remaining active for more than one year are updated annually
  • Reporting to Deans, Chairs, Directors, and the Committee on the state of current and forthcoming nominations
  • Participating on subcommittees to adjudicate nominations where the number of applications per institution for an award is limited
  • Attending, supporting, and promoting awards recognition events