Centres and institutes


Research groups

Research centres and institutes

University Research Centres and Institutes

Centre for Bioengineering & Biotechnology (CBB)

Cybersecurity and Privacy Institute​ (CPI)

Games Institute

Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC)

Waterloo Climate Institute (Formerly the Interdisciplinary Centre on Climate Change (IC3))

Water Institute

Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Energy (WISE)

Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology (WIN)

Senate-Approved Centres and Institutes

Official recognition and designation of all centres and institutes is at the approval of Senate following review of a proposal and recommendation to Senate by the Senate Graduate & Research Council.

Centre for Accounting Research & Education (CARE)

Centre for Advanced Materials Joining (CAMJ)

Centre for Computational Mathematics in Industry & Commerce (CCMIC)

Centre for Ocular Research & Education (CORE)

Center for Pavement Engineering and Transportation Technology (CPATT)

Centre for Sustainability and Business

Centre for Theoretical Neuroscience (CTN)

Global Health Policy & Innovation Research Centre (GHPI)

Heritage Resource Centre

Institute for Polymer Research (IPR)

Southwestern Ontario Research Data Centre (SWORDC)

Survey Research Centre (SRC)

Waterloo Artificial Intelligence Institute

Waterloo Centre for Astrophysics

Waterloo Centre for Automotive Research (WatCAR)

Waterloo Centre for German Studies

Waterloo Centre for Microbial Research (WCMR)

Waterloo Institute for Complexity and Innovation (WICI)

Waterloo Centre for Electrochemical Energy

Waterloo Institute for Hellenistic Studies

Waterloo Institute for Social Innovation and Resilience (WISIR)

Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Aeronautics (WISA)