About our department

two students in animated conversation

The Department of Communication Arts offers three sets of degree programs, one in Theatre and Performance, one in Communication Studies and one in Communication Arts and Design Practice, and a minor in Digital Arts Communication.

Each of our four units pursues distinct disciplinary and practical areas of study, all contributing to a rigorous and creative analysis of performance and representation as ways of making meaning.

The department's research, creative work, teaching, and outreach integrate theory and practice to address broad public concerns and questions of social relevance. Our students become reflective practitioners who are successful independently and in interdisciplinary teams in a wide range of economic sectors.