Filter by:

Limit to news where the title matches:
Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Limit to news items tagged with one or more of:
Limit to news items where the audience is one or more of:

From June 6th to 9th the Waterloo-Wellington Children’s Groundwater Festival took place at the Guelph Lake Conservation Area. The festival aims to help educate children on the importance and diversity of water use in historical and modern times. This year they hosted over 500 attendees and brought together over 125 volunteers in the field to help educate the students. ERG members, Christina Lam, Jane Ye, Danielle Green, Xiaochuang Bu, Qiwei Huang, Lewis Alcott, and Katie Hettinga all volunteered to help with festival activities.

In 2021, the Faculty of Science at the University of Waterloo introduced an internal awards program entitled the ‘Excellence in Science Research Awards’ to recognize outstanding research accomplishments by faculty members.  This is an annual competition where each academic unit in the Faculty is invited to submit three nominees: one recently tenured, one mid-career and one senior tenured faculty (10+ years post tenure).

Members of Ecohydrology Research Group attended the Global Water Futures 2023 Annual Open Science Meeting (GWF ASM) virtual conference on May 15th – 17th 2023!

Panel Presentation:

Presentation given by Philippe Van Cappellen titled "Lake eutrophication: Major GWF research outcomes" given in the panel "Changing Lakes, Ponds, and Wetlands" convened by Nandita Basu and Philippe Van Cappellen.

From May 7th to 10th, Ecohydrology Research Group members attended the 2023 Annual Meeting of the Canadian Geophysical Union (CGU) in Banff, Alberta. The multidisciplinary conference featured public and plenary lectures and oral and poster presentations on hydrology, biogeosciences, geodesy, and solid earth. More information about the conference can be found on the conference website.

Monday, May 8, 2023

ERG attends IAGLR 2023

Ecohydrology Research Group members attended the 2023 International Association for Great Lakes Research (IAGLR) conference held in Toronto, Ontario, on May 8-12. This year’s conference theme was ‘Adapting to Climate Change’. More information about the conference can be found on the conference website.

ERG members organized the following two sessions at the conference:

Philippe Van Cappellen received the prestigious 2022 J. Tuzo Wilson Medal at this year’s meeting of the Canadian Geophysical Union in Banff. The J. Tuzo Wilson Medal is given annually to recognize scientists who make outstanding contributions to the advancement of knowledge in any research area of the Union (i.e., Solid Earth, Biogeosciences, Geodesy or Hydrology).

The International Society for Ecological Modeling is holding its Global Conference 2023 at the University of Toronto – Scarborough on 2-6 May. Two ERG talks are highlighting the work on phosphorus cycling in the Lake St. Clair – Lake Erie system and the implications for managing re-eutrophication:

"Predicting lake responses to climate change in terms of its thermal structure and bottom water" presented by Serghei Bocaniov, with co-authors Kevin Lamb, Rao Yerubandi, and Philippe Van Cappellen;

The 2023 General Assembly of the European Geosciences Union (EGU) took place on 23-28 April in Vienna, Austria. It brought together nearly 19,000 researchers in Vienna and online from all across the world for a week of scientific discoveries, discussions and new connections. ERG member Mahyar Shafii gave an oral presentation in session HS2.3.1 on Water quality at the catchment scale: measuring and modeling of nutrients, sediment and eutrophication impacts.

The Ecohydrology Research Group (ERG) is thrilled to announce the successful funding of $1,348,540 for a new Collaborative research project on “Adaptive management of green stormwater infrastructure to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from urban watersheds”. The project is awarded by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada through the Alliance Missions Grant for 3 years (2023-2026).