Congratulations to our 2015-2016 grads

Thursday, June 16, 2016

On Wednesday, June 15 our newest Economics graduates from the Undergraduate, Masters and PhD programs walked across the stage at the Arts convocation to accept their degree.

Economics faculty and staff standing at banner

Economics faculty and staff from left: Horatiu Rus, Dinghai Xu, Trien Nguyen, Pat Shaw (Grad Coordinator), Kayla McKinnon (UG Coordinator), Lutz-Alexander Busch (UG Associate Chair), Mary Ann Vaughan

Following the ceremony the Economics faculty and staff joined graduates and their families to celebrate the milestone day! This has become a new tradition for the Economics Department over the last few years and we truly enjoy seeing all the happy faces, proud parents, and hearing about what comes next for our new alumni. 

Economics Masters graduates in front of banner

Economics MA graduates proud of their hard work, from left: Adrian Sado, Yite Zeng, Christina Cao, Zheren Hu, Michael Xiao, Syed Naqvi

PhD graduate Behnoush Amery with Horatiu Rus and Pat Shaw

PhD graduate Behnoush Amery poses with Professor Horatiu Rus and Graduate Studies Coordinator Pat Shaw. Congratulations on this milestone! 

During this time we also give out our Undergraduate Convocation Awards to students that have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement. 

Asa Ytta Motha-Pollock and Phil Curry

Asa Ytta Motha-Pollock and Professor Philip Curry. Asa is the recipient of the 2015-2016 Department Award for Distinguished Academic Achievement (Faculty of Arts) and also an Economics Achievement Award. Way to go!

Shelly Kaushik and Horatiu Rus

Shelly Kaushik and Professor Horatiu Rus. Shelly is the recipient of an Economics Achievement Award. 

Justin Ngai and Phil Curry

Justin Ngai and Professor Philip Curry. Justin is the recipient of an Economics Achievement Award. 

Congratulations to our 2015-2016 grads, and all the best in the future!

For more photos visit our 2016 Convocation album or our Facebook page