Affiliated and federated institutions of Waterloo (AFIW)

There are historians across every campus at the University of Waterloo.


SBSteven Bednarski
Professor, St. Jerome's University
stevenb@uwaterloo.ca

Office: STJ 3010C
Phone: 519-888-4567, ext. 28276
Website: Environments of Change
 

Research interests:

  • Medieval history
  • Social history
  • Criminal history
  • Gender history
  • Environmental history

Steven Bednarski's profile


Marlene Epp Marlene Epp
Professor of History and Peace and Conflict Studies, Conrad Grebel University College
mgepp@uwaterloo.ca

Office: CGUC 4205
Phone: 519-885-0220 x24257

Research interests: 

  • Immigration and refugees in Canada
  • Gender studies - women and family
  • Mennonite history
  • The history of food and culture

Marlene Epp's profile 


Kimie Hara
Professor, Renison University College
khara@uwaterloo.ca

Office: REN 1109
Phone: 519-884-4404, ext. 28660

Research interests: 

  • Modern and contemporary international relations of the Asia-Pacific region
  • Diplomatic history of Japan

Kimie Hara's profile


Kristina Llewellyn
Associate Professor, Renison University College
kristina.llewellyn@uwaterloo.ca

Office: REN 1603
Phone: 519-884-4404, ext. 28631

Research interests:

  • History of education
  • Oral history
  • Women’s history
  • History education

Kristina Llewellyn profile


David NeufeldDavid Neufeld
Visiting Assistant Professor, History
Conrad Grebel University College
david.neufeld@uwaterloo.ca

Office: CGUC 3101
Phone: 519-885-0220 x24201

Research interests:

  • Religion and culture in Early Modern Europe
  • Anabaptists and Anabaptism
  • The history of archives

David Neufeld's profile


Jane Nicholas
Associate Professor, St. Jerome's University
jane.nicholas@uwaterloo.ca

Office: SH 2014
Phone: 519-888-4567, ext. 28273

Research Interests:

  • Canada
  • Body history
  • Gender and Women's history
  • History and theory

Jane Nicholas' profile


Troy OsborneTroy Osborne
Dean, Associate Professor
Conrad Grebel University College
troy.osborne@uwaterloo.ca

Office: CGUC 2118
Phone: 519-885-0220 x24260

Research interests:

  • Early modern European religious and cultural history
  • The Dutch republic
  • Anabaptist/Mennonite history

Troy Osborne's profile


RTRyan Touhey  
Associate Professor, History Department Chair, St. Jerome's University
ryan.touhey@uwaterloo.ca

Office: SH 2002
Phone: 519-888-4567, ext. 28218

Research interests: 

  • Canadian foreign relations
  • Canadian political history
  • The Cold War
  • Modern South Asia, with a particular focus on India

Ryan Touhey's profile