Awards reception celebrates student accomplishments

Saturday, June 22, 2019

The Management Science Spring Student Awards Reception took place on June 20, 2019, celebrating the outstanding achievements of undergraduate and graduate students.

Professor Mark Smucker, Associate Chair Undergraduate Studies, presented letters of congratulations and gift cards to Management Engineering students on the Dean’s Honour List, recognizing their academic excellence in the 2018-2019 academic year. The award recepients were:

  • Nicolas Abou Sawan (1B, 2A) 
  • Lucy Fountin (2A) 
  • Rafiq Habib (1B, 2A) 
  • Bradley Hallett (1B, 2A) 
  • Ryan How Tein Fat (2A) 
  • Matthew Schneider (2A) 
  • Mara Nadine Sison (1B) 
  • Adam Syed (1B, 2A) 
  • Chi-En (Amy) Tai (1B, 2A) 
  • Yanjun Zou (1B, 2A) 
  • Celeste Cassel De Camps (3A, 3B) 
  • Tyler Fronchak (3A, 3B) 
  • Alyssa Hopkins (3A, 3B) 
  • Meghan Stronach (3A) 
  • Aaron Yim (3A, 3B) 

Professor Mark Smucker also presented Graduate Teaching Assistantship (TA) Awards to recognize excellent TAs in the 2018-2019 academic year. The recognized graduate students were:

  • Omer Kinay – Spring 2018 
  • Fuat Can Beylunioglu – Fall 2018 
  • Rafael Martino – Winter 2019 

On behalf of the Sandford Fleming Foundation, Professor Bill Bishop presented the Sandford Fleming Work Report Award to Jonathan Dhanapala, a fourth year Management Engineering student, recognizing an outstanding work report Jonathan had written on his prior co-op term.

Professor Bill Bishop also presented the Donald J. Clough Award to Bo Lin, a Master's student in Management Sciences, recognizing his high overall academic achievement.

Professor Rob Duimering, Associate Chair Graduate Studies, presented the El Gabbani Scholarship to Esma Akgun. This scholarship is awarded yearly to an international Master's student with high academic potential.

Finally, Professor Rob Duimering also presented the Fraser Award to Yaser Aboghasemi Dehaghani.  This award for Graduate Student Research is awarded yearly to the winner of the Management Sciences student research paper competition.