Dr. Robert N. FarvoldenThe Farvolden Lecture Series, hosted by the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Waterloo, was initiated in 1996 as an annual celebration in honour of Dr. Robert N. Farvolden (photo).  The Lecture Series fosters interaction and communication between the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, the alumni of the hydrogeology program and the groundwater community at large.

The 2019 Farvolden Lecture will be held on Friday, November 1, 2019 @ 2:00 p.m. For more information, please visit the event page.

If you cannot attend the Farvolden Lecture in person, watch it Live here:


Past Farvolden Lecturers

  • Ed Sudicky, Earth and Environmental Sciences (2018)
  • Cathryn Ryan, Geoscience, University of Calgary (2017)
  • Roger Woeller, Chief Executive Officer, BluMetric Environmental (2016)
  • David Rudolph, Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Waterloo (2015)
  • Peter Fritz, Scientific and Founding Director of Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research UFZ, Leipzig, Germany (2014)
  • Jim F. Barker, Professor Emeritus Earth and Environmental Sciences University of Waterloo (2013)
  • Andre Beland, Vice-President of Engineering and Construction (Retired) SNC-Lavalin Inc., Libya  (2012)
  • Robert W. Gillham, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, University of Waterloo Executive Director, Water Institute University of Waterloo (2011)
  • Anthony D. Daus, AMEC Geomatrix, Newport Beach, CA (2010)
  • John A. Cherry, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, University of Waterloo Adjunct Professor, University of Guelph  (2009)
  • Richard (Dick) Jackson, Intera Engineering, Heidelberg, ON (2008)
  • John (Jack) Sharp, Department of Geological Sciences University of Texas at Austin (2007)
  • Garth van der Kamp, Environment Canada (2006)
  • Geog Teutsch Helmholtz, Helmholtz Centre For Environmental Research, Leipzig, Germany (2005) 
  • John Bredehoeft, The Hydrodynamics Group, Sausalito, CA (2004)
  • Mary Anderson, Emeritus Professor Department of Geoscience University of Wisconsin-Madison (2003)
  • Leonard Konikow, US Geological Survey, Reston, VA (2002)


Lorraine Albrecht
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Waterloo
Waterloo, ON  N2L 3G1
519-888-4567, ext. 32069

Morning activities

Farvolden Day starts off in the late morning with an event that was a highlight last year. This is the "speed dating" style Mentorship and Networking period for the sponsors/potential employers and students to get to know one another, discuss research activities and explore potential employment opportunities. It is a great opportunity to learn about current research topics and to meet our present graduate student cohort. A light lunch will be provided to all participants.

If you are STUDENT interested in participating, please sign up with Maddy Rosamond (msrosamo@uwaterloo.ca)

If you are an EMPLOYER interested in participating, please sign up with Roger Woeller (rwoeller@wesadvisors.ca)

Farvolden Scholarship


For information on how you can help support the Farvolden Lecture Series, please contact:

David Timms 
Science Director of Advancement
519-888-4567, ext. 33173



  • Coming