There are a variety of scholarships available to current students in Earth and Environmental Sciences.

Brantford Lapidary and Mineral Society Awards - Awarded early September

Four awards, valued at up to $500 each, are provided annually to undergraduate students enrolled in an Earth Sciences program in the Faculty of Science who have achieved a minimum overall average of 75%: two for second-year students and two for third-year students.  Preference will be given to students enrolled in mineralogy courses.  Award recipients will be encouraged to attend a meeting of the Brantford Lapidary and Mineral Society Inc., and provide a brief presentation.  This fund is made possible through the generosity of The Brantford Lapidary and Mineral Society, a long time partner and friend of the Faculty of Science.

There is no application for this award. Recipients will be contacted at the beginning of September.

List of recipients

Ron Kellerman Memorial Award - Awarded early September

One award, valued at $500, will be presented annually to the full-time student in Earth Sciences who achieves the highest mark based on academic excellence in Earth 221 (Geochemistry).  This award was created in 2012 in honour of Ron Kellerman who worked in the Earth Science Department as a geochemist for over 15 years.

There is no application for this award. Recipients will be contacted at the beginning of September.

List of recipients

Dr. Brian D. Bornhold Scholarship - Awarded in Fall

A scholarship, valued at $2,000, is awarded annually to a full-time undergraduate student enrolled in Year Two, Three, or Four in Earth and Environmental Sciences in the Faculty of Science on the basis of academic achievement. This award is made possible by Dr. Brian D. Bornhold, PhD, P.Geo.(BC), who was the first graduate of Waterloo’s Earth Sciences program, receiving a BSc in 1967.

List of recipients

J.P. Bickell Foundation Mining Awards - Application due October 1st 

Several awards, valued at up to $2,000 each, are provided to undergraduate students in mining related programs, including environmental geosciences, geological sciences, earth sciences, and mining engineering. To be eligible, students must be enrolled in second year or above, have an overall average of 75% or above, and must demonstrate their interest in the mining industry.

List of recipients

Duncan​ F. McIvor Memorial Award - Application due October 1st

One award, valued at up to $2,000, will be given annually to a third- or fourth-year student who has demonstrated leadership, scholastic aptitude, and an interest in pursuing exploration field geology while enrolled in the undergraduate program within the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences. This award was established in 2011 by friends and family of the late Duncan F. McIvor who graduated in 1984 with an Honours Applied Earth Sciences degree. 

List of recipients

Allan Free​ze Prize - Awarded early January

The Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences offers an annual award to the first- or second-year student who obtains the highest mark in Earth 123 Introductory Hydrology. The amount of the award is $250, which will be in the form of a Bookstore voucher.

There is no application for this award. Recipients will be contacted at the beginning of January.

List of recipients

Student Industry Field Trip (SIFT) Award - Application due end of January

The Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists (CSPG) designed as an intense two-week immersion program based out of Calgary to provide an introduction to the oil and gas industry, and establish links between industry and universities. This 2 week program involves lectures and seminars, visits to the ERCB core repository, and project work to test and reward the candidates.

Dr. Martin Ross is our departments SIFT representative and will provide annual information on the award and applicaiton in January. For more information regarding the visit the CSPG website.

List of recipients

David M. Forget Memorial Award - Application due February 1st 

Established in memory of David M. Forget, an award valued up to $1,200 will be made annually to a student enrolled in Year Two of Earth Sciences, Geological Engineering or other Earth major program. Students who can demonstrate an interest in the geosciences combined with a love and respect for nature, a good ability and interest in writing and a dedication to their studies are invited to write a short essay (four pages maximum) explaining their eligibility for this award and addressing the criteria as stated above.

List of recipients

Mineralogical Association of Canada Award - Awarded in February

The undergraduate student awards are given annually to an undergraduate student (2nd year of study or higher) at a recognized Canadian university or institute of higher education for excellence in one of the specialties supported by the Mineralogical Association of Canada (mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology and mineral deposits). The recipient will receive a one-year membership to the Association (including electronic access to The Canadian Mineralogist, a subscription to Elements, 20% discount on MAC publications, discounted registration fee at our annual meeting) and a $100 gift certificate redeemable on any MAC publications to be selected from our Short Course, Special Issue of The Canadian Mineralogist or Special Publication series. If a suitable undergraduate student is not available, a graduate student may be chosen. The nominating officer must be an instructor of a course involving one of the specialties supported by the Mineralogical Association of Canada.

If you would like to be nominated for this award please contact Luke Balch. Only one nomination per institution per year is granted.

Geological Association of Canada - Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada Logan Student Prize

The GAC®-PDAC Logan Student Prize will be awarded annually to one undergraduate student at each CCCESD-member department. The prize will consist of a monetary award, one-year memberships in both GAC® and PDAC, and an electronic certificate affirming that the student won the GAC®-PDAC Logan Student Prize.

List of recipients

Canadian Society of Petroleum Geology Undergraduate Award

$50 and a one year membership, awarded annually by CSPG.


Every year, we receive funding from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Undergraduate Student Research Awards. This allows us to fund undergraduate research for a term. For eligibility requirements, please check the NSERC website.

To apply for NSERC please contact Sue Fisher for department deadlines.

APGO education foundation - Geoscience student scholarships 

  • Taking geoscience as an undergraduate at an Ontario university?
  • Moving toward becoming a registered professional geoscientist?
  • Looking for some financial support?

The APGO Education Foundation wants to help! For more information please check out Geoscience Student Scholarships