Philosophy Society

The Philosophy Society (PhilSoc) is an undergraduate student society affiliated with the Philosophy Department at the University of Waterloo. We provide opportunities for students studying or interested in philosophy to discuss and explore a variety of topics (ethics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, cognitive science, philosophy of science, etc.). We also participate in student advocacy through both the Philosophy department and the Arts Student Union.

If you are interested in joining the Philosophy Society or receiving updates about society events, please consider following our various social media accounts or signing up for our monthly newsletter. You can also email our Executive Team at

Please note that events and services are open to all UWaterloo undergraduate students (regardless of program).

If you would like to learn more about the undergraduate Philosophy Society, you are also welcome to contact our faculty liaison, Nick Ray.

The PhilSoc executive members for 2022-2023 are:

President – Olivia Kamminga

Vice President – Kyra Woodend

Communications Officer – Shivali Kalia

Events Coordinators – Jai Vardhan Gulati, and Ishita Ananth Krishnan