Thursday, May 18, 2017

First annual Datathon at the University of Waterloo

Students at Datathon 2017

Over 550 Waterloo students applied for 100 spots at the first annual Waterloo Datathon (May 13th).  Like a Hackathon, students were given a set of materials and asked to solve a structured problem.  It involved working with a dataset, predictive modeling, interpretation and presentation of results.  This event sponsored by Citadel and powered by Correlation One in partnership with the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science awarded a top prize of $20,000 and second prize of $5,000 to the top two winning teams.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Distinguished Lecture will be given by Professor Peter Diggle, Lancaster University on May 11, 2017

Peter Diggle

The Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science is pleased to announce that the first lecture in 2017 for the David Sprott Distinguished Lecture Series will be given by Professor Peter Diggle from Lancaster University on Thursday May 11, 2017 at 4 pm.

Please see our event page for more details on Prof. Peter Diggle's upcoming lecture.

Monday, May 1, 2017

Congratulations to John Dark, University of Waterloo alumnus, for becoming the President of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries for 2018/2019.

In April, the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) announced that John Dark would become their president during 2018/2019.  

John's achievement will make him the third president in a row from the University of Waterloo.  Dave Dickson is the current president (2016/2017), he will be succeeded by Sharon Giffen later this year for 2017/2018 term, and John Dark will take over next year.      

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Jim Kalbfleisch (1940-2017)

Jim Kalbfleisch

With the passing of Jim Kalbfleisch we have lost a mentor, colleague and wonderful friend whose efforts in the early years shaped our Department.

Further information on Jim’s career can be located on our In Memoriam site.

A visitation will be held from 2:00 to 4:30pm on Saturday April 29th at the Westmount Memorial Celebration Centre. On Sunday April 30th, Jim's family will also receive visitors from 12:00 to 2:00 followed by a Celebration of Life Service. In lieu of flowers, donations can be made to any charity of choice. Jim's favourite charities included the KW Symphony, the Grand River Regional Cancer Centre, and the Jim Kalbfleisch Award at the University of Waterloo.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

It is with great pleasure that the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science at the University of Waterloo welcomes Dr. Mario Ghossoub as an Assistant Professor as of May 1st 2017.

Mario Ghossoub

GHOSSOUB, Mario (PhD 2011, University of Waterloo) Assistant Professor, Dept. of Statistics and Actuarial science.

Friday, February 17, 2017

Prof. Ken Seng Tan Named Sun Life Fellow in International Actuarial Science

Sun Life Financial Asia (Sun Life Asia) and University of Waterloo have announced Professor Ken Seng Tan as the recipient of the Sun Life Fellowship in International Actuarial Science

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Hans Rosling (1948-2017) “A voice of hope and statistical clarity"

On February 7, 2017,  Hans Rosling, Swedish statistician, academic,  and champion of global development and understanding, died after a year-long illness.

In 2006, Hans Rosling gave a TED talk that has been called “The best stats you’ve ever seen

This presentation rocketed Rosling to international fame as a great communicator of statistics and of data-driven decision making, especially in understanding global development.  

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Congratulations to Richard Cook, winner of the University of Waterloo Award of Excellence in Graduate Supervision for 2016-17.

Richard Cook

Many enthusiastic letters of support for Prof. Cook’s nomination were received from former students. These students passionately described their experiences under his supervision and all speak to his deep commitment to the success and well-being of his students as well as academic excellence.

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Stefan H. Steiner receives the Brumbaugh Award from the American Society for Quality

Stefan H. Steiner

The Brumbaugh Award is presented annually by the American Society for Quality (ACQ) to the author of the paper, published in the preceding year, that has made the largest single contribution to the development of industrial application of quality control.  This year's winners are Stefan H. Steiner (University of Waterloo), Yi Lu (University of Toronto), and Jock Mackay (University of Waterloo)

  1. 2017 (8)
    1. May (3)
    2. April (2)
    3. February (2)
    4. January (1)
  2. 2016 (12)
    1. December (1)
    2. September (2)
    3. June (1)
    4. May (2)
    5. April (2)
    6. February (1)
    7. January (3)
  3. 2015 (12)
    1. November (1)
    2. October (3)
    3. September (2)
    4. May (3)
    5. April (3)
  4. 2014 (20)
  5. 2013 (11)
  6. 2012 (16)
  7. 2011 (5)