Professor elected VP of IEEE Nanotechnology Technical Council

Monday, January 13, 2020

John Yeow, a Waterloo systems design engineering professor, is the new VP of Educational Activities for the IEEE Nanotechnology Technical Council (NTC).

Yeow, the Canada Research Chair in Micro/Nanodevices and a University Research Chair, has been involved in a number of different NTC activities John Yeowsince 2006 including editor-in-chief for the IEEE Nanotechnology Newsletter and the IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine.

John Yeow was elected VP of Educational Activities for the IEEE Nanotechnology Technical Council for 2020-21.

He was a NTC distinguished lecturer from 2017 to 2018 and a general chair of the IEEE NANO 2014.  Last year, he served as the program chair for IEEE NANOMED 2019 in Gwangju, South Korea and IEEE NEMS 2019 in San Diego, U.S.

In his new role, Yeow plans to establish a stronger and sustainable relationship between the NTC Distinguished Lecturer program with NTC chapters around the world. Another of his objectives is to support and promote NTC chapters' educational activities such as nanotechnology engineering outreach programs.

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council is a multi-disciplinary group supporting the theory, design and development of nanotechnology and its applications.

This article was originally posted on the faculty of Engineering News site.