The Academic Freedom & Tenure Committee

The Academic Freedom & Tenure Committee (AF&T) helps faculty members with workplace problems.

These problems range from the application of University policy or the Memorandum of Agreement (MoA), to concerns about tenure, promotion, and performance reviews. Tenured faculty members from across the University are trained in key elements of University policy and the MoA. Where issues beyond their expertise or experience arise, they have access to the resources of the Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT).

The committee works on dozens of cases a year, and also advises the Board on the development and revision of relevant University policies.

If you have a concern with a policy itself, rather than the implementation of policy in a specific case, please contact a member of the Board of Directors.

Committee members

Name Faculty
Vershawn A. Young (chair) Arts
Greg Andres Arts
Jean-Paul Lam Arts
Roydon Fraser Engineering
Kevin Hare Math
Natalie Hutchings Science
Rahim Moosa Mathematics
Shaun Frape Science
Marianna Polak Engineering
Su-Yin Tan Environment
Rob Danisch Arts
Bill Power Science