The QEYSSat Science Team

QEYSSat logo © Canadian Space Agency, 2021

QEYSSat logo © Canadian Space Agency2021

The Quantum EncrYption and Science Satellite (QEYSSat) mission plans to study quantum links and perform quantum key distribution (QKD) for ground-to-space communication with quantum ground stations across Canada and internationally. Leading the core QEYSSat Science Team is principal investigator Thomas Jennewein, faculty member at the Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC) and in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Waterloo.

QEYSSat science activities are proposed and executed by Canadian and International Science Teams with close collaboration and approval by the Canadian Space Agency (CSA). The science activities consist of experiments and studies to maximize the scientific results of the QEYSSat mission and to advance scientific knowledge. The Science Teams are composed of researchers across Canada and international collaborators, and will help demonstrate quantum links from multiple geographically-dispersed locations. The activities of the Canadian Science Team will be funded under a new NSERC Alliance Quantum Consortium grant called QUINT (QEYSSat User Investigation Team).

The Quantum EncrYption and Science Satellite (QEYSSat) mission is made possible through the collaboration of the following members:


Map of Canada showing location of executives

A map of collaborators on the Executive QEYSSat Science Team across Canada from the CSA, NRC-Ottawa, NRC-HAA, and the core Science Team led by principal investigator Thomas Jennewein at IQC, Waterloo. The primary quantum ground station (QGS) will be located at Canadian Space Agency (CSA), and the secondary QGS is planned for the Research Advancement Centre 1 (RAC1) building at IQC, University of Waterloo.

Canadian Space Agency

Stéphane Routhier
QEYSSat Program Manager

Éric Gloutnay
QEYSSat Systems Engineer

Oleg Djazovski
Senior Electro-Optical Engineer

Lydia Philpott
QEYSSat Mission Manager

Alexander Koujelev
QEYSSat Technical Specialist

Institute for Quantum Computing, University of Waterloo 

Thomas Jennewein
QEYSSat Science Team Principal Investigator

Brendon L. Higgins
QEYSSat Science Team Technical Lead

Paul J. Godin
QEYSSat Science Team Technical Specialist

Brian Moffat
QEYSSat Science Team Program Director

Katanya B. Kuntz
QEYSSat Science Team Coordinator

National Research Council Canada (NRC-Ottawa)

Frédéric Bouchard

Khabat Heshami

Robin Williams

Benjamin Sussman

Philip Bustard

Lynne Genik

Duncan England

Dan Dalacu

Aimee Gunther

Sylvain Raymond

National Research Council Canada Herzberg Astronomy & Astrophysics (NRC-HAA) 

Jean-Pierre Véran

Scott Roberts


Map of Canada showing location of Canadian science team

A map of Canadian QEYSSat Science Team member organizations across Canada. A tertiary QGS is planned as part of the Reference Frame Independent Quantum Key Distribution project (ReFQ) at the University of Calgary.

We are continuing to expand the Canadian QEYSSat Science Team collaborators, which currently include:

Institute for Quantum Computing, University of Waterloo, Ontario
Norbert Lütkenhaus
Michele Mosca

McGill University, Québec
Claude Crépeau

McMaster University, Ontario
Chang-qing Xu
Steve Hranilovic

Simon Fraser University, British Columbia
Stephanie Simmons

Université de Montréal, Québec
Louis Salvail

Université de Sherbrooke, Québec
Jean-François Pratte
Serge Charlebois

University of Alberta, Alberta
John Davis
Lindsay LeBlanc

University of Calgary, Alberta
Christoph Simon
Daniel Oblak (ReFQ)

University of Ottawa, Ontario
Ebrahim Karimi

University of Toronto, Ontario
Amr Helmy
Li Qian


QEYSSAT International map

A map of International QEYSSat Science Team member organizations. The primary quantum ground station (QGS) will be located at Canadian Space Agency (CSA) in St-Hubert, Canada.

We are continuing to expand the International QEYSSat Science Team collaborators, which currently include:

Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), Starfire Optical Range (SOR), USA
Charlie Bellows
R. Nicholas Lanning

Defence Science and Technology Group (DSTG), Australia
Dennis Delic
Ken Grant

German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany
Christian Fuchs
Florian Moll

Heriot-Watt University, UK
Alessandro Fedrizzi
Ross Donaldson

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), California Institute of Technology (CalTech), USA
Makan Mohageg
Matthew Shaw

National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT), Japan
Hiroyuki Tsuji
Morio Toyoshima

Nicolaus Copernicus University, Poland
Piotr Kolenderski

University of Strathclyde, UK
Daniel Oi (ReFQ)

University of Bristol, UK
John Rarity (ReFQ)