Orchestra Concerto & Aria Competition results

Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Concerto and Aria Competition Results

Conrad Grebel University College hosted the  orchestra@UWaterloo Concerto competition this past weekend and the judges were tasked with choosing a winner from a group of highly skilled and talented musicians. The level of playing from so many of the candidates was absolutely outstanding - well on par with any other university in the country.

The winner was Catharine He on piano with her absolutely flawless and poignant performance of  Chopin Concerto #1.

The 2nd place winner was Ryan Yang on clarinet with a sublime performance of the Mozart Clarinet concerto.

Third place was awarded to Julian Dominguez-Schatz, piano with his powerful yet sensitive performance of the Grieg piano concerto.

Catharine will be performing with the Orchestra@Waterloo on our fall concert late November 2023.

There were 20 competitors this year, a record number of entries.  At least another 8 or 9 contestants were very close to winning a chance to play a solo with the orchestra, the caliber of players was quite high.  Here is the full list:

Jack Bishop – Mathematical Physics, 4B – violin
NianXiao Che – Mathematical Physics, 1B – flute
Jason Cheng – Software Engineering, 1B – piano
Austin Con – Nanotechnology, 4B – piano
Julian Dominguez-Schatz – Computer Science, 4B – piano
Chris Fang – Software Engineering, 3A – violin
Karen Fu – Accounting & Financial Management, 4B - violin
Catherine He – Computer Science, 2B – piano
Ashley Johnson – Medicinal Chemistry & Music, 4A – voice
Thomas Mennill – Mechanical Engineering, 3B - horn
Anya Murray – Music, 2B - flute
Sammeksha Naik – Mechatronics Engineering, 4B – horn
Ethan Pronev – Computer Science, 3A - piano
Hannah Rivers – Systems Design Engineering, 4B – voice
Kavya Srinivasan – Knowledge Integration, 1B - violin
Frank Wang – Computer Science, 4B – violin
Ryan Yang – Mathematics, 2A – clarinet
Yi Ye – Music, 4A - piano
Nahvid Zolfaghari – Mechanical Engineering, 3A – cello


Congratulations to these wonderful musicians! Also many thanks to Dr. David Taylor for his unwavering support of music at Conrad Grebel and throughout the community.

Judges: Daniel Warren, conductor, Karen Sunabacka, music theory Professor, and Marcus Scholtes, violin/piano 

David Taylor with 3 winners