Thursday, February 11, 2021

Inaugural Wittek Quantum Prize Awarded to Waterloo and Perimeter PhD Student

February 5, 2021

Xiu-Zhe (Roger) Luo is honoured for his open-source software contributions

Perimeter and University of Waterloo PhD student Xiu-Zhe (Roger) Luo has won the inaugural Wittek Quantum Prize for Open Source Software.

Monday, February 8, 2021

International Women's Day High Tea Social

Grab your favourite afternoon drink, cozy up in your favourite chair and spend an hour with some truly inspirational women. Whether you'd like to just listen, or engage over text in the online chat forum, this virtual high tea social will be a lively commentary and round-table discussion about why women choose to challenge.

Tuesday, January 26, 2021

Taking qubits to the next level

Researchers have implemented a gate used in important quantum algorithms in one step on a three-level quantum system—a qutrit—for the first time.

The new work led by Ali Yurtalan, Research Associate at IQC and in the University of Waterloo Department of Physics and Astronomy, identifies and addresses key challenges to controlling a qutrit, bringing researchers one step closer to developing quantum computers based on these multi-level quantum processors.

Thursday, January 21, 2021

NSERC Donna Strickland Prize for Societal Impact of Natural Sciences and Engineering Research

The NSERC Donna Strickland Prize for Societal Impact of Natural Sciences and Engineering Research is awarded annually to an individual or team whose outstanding research, conducted in Canada in the natural sciences and engineering (NSE), has led to exceptional benefits for Canadian society, environment and/or economy. All researchers in the NSE, regardless of their career stage, can be nominated for this award for their research conducted in Canada.

Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Donna Strickland amongst most powerful people in Canada

Donna Strickland

Congratulations to Professor Donna Strickland, who was listed as the 39th most powerful person in Canada, according to Maclean's Magazine's 2021 list.

In a list amongst politicians, activists, business leaders, epidemiologists and public health experts, Donna Strickland stands out as a researcher driven by curiosity. 

Friday, January 8, 2021

Event Horizon Telescope team recognized for outstanding group achievement

Congratulations to the Event Horizon Telescope (EHT) team, including Professor Avery Broderick, for being honoured with the Royal Astronomical Society’s Group Award today! This award recognizes outstanding achievement by a large consortium within astronomy.

Wednesday, December 16, 2020

Professor Crystal Senko awarded Canada Research Chair in Trapped Ion Quantum Computing

Crystal Senko adjusts optical components in her lab

It is with great pleasure that we congratulate Professor Crystal Senko from the Faculty of Science for being named a Canada Research Chair (CRC)!

Senko joins 15 other University of Waterloo Science Professors in this distinguished program, and is one of nine professors across Waterloo appointed in 2020.

Wednesday, November 25, 2020

NSERC honours Donna Strickland with a new prize for research excellence

Donna Strickland

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) is honouring Canada’s most recent science Nobel laureates by launching prizes in their names that will highlight Canadian research excellence.

Tuesday, November 24, 2020

Q & A with the experts: The problem with herd immunity and COVID-19

The “herd immunity strategy” has been discussed and largely rejected by scientists as a strategy to combat COVID-19.

  1. 2021 (7)
    1. February (2)
    2. January (5)
  2. 2020 (22)
    1. December (1)
    2. November (6)
    3. October (5)
    4. September (2)
    5. August (1)
    6. June (1)
    7. May (1)
    8. April (2)
    9. March (1)
    10. January (2)
  3. 2019 (14)
    1. December (1)
    2. October (1)
    3. September (1)
    4. August (3)
    5. June (3)
    6. May (2)
    7. March (2)
    8. February (1)
  4. 2018 (15)
  5. 2017 (19)
  6. 2016 (22)
  7. 2015 (30)
  8. 2014 (12)
  9. 2013 (7)
  10. 2012 (9)
  11. 2011 (3)
  12. 2010 (6)
  13. 2009 (1)