Donna Strickland named Hagler Fellow

Wednesday, October 6, 2021

donna_strickland_headshotUniversity of Waterloo Professor and Nobel Laureate Donna Strickland has been named a Fellow of the Hagler Institute for Advanced Study at Texas A&M University.

The Hagler Institute announced its 10th class of Hagler Fellows on September 28, and Professor Strickland was among the eight honourees. The list of Fellows includes scientists, engineers and scholars who are recognized internationally for their achievements. Each belongs to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, or hold recognitions of equal stature in their fields.

"Strickland was awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics for developing chirped pulse amplification, used in corrective eye surgery, industrial machining and medical imaging," says her citation. "She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Strickland will collaborate with faculty and students in the Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering, and the colleges of science and agriculture and life sciences."

The Hagler Institute selects its Fellows from among top scholars who have distinguished themselves through outstanding professional accomplishments or significant recognition. Previous classes of Hagler Fellows have included two Nobel laureates, a Wolf Prize recipient, a recipient of the Hubble Medal in Literature for Lifetime Achievement, a recipient of the National Medal of Science, an awardee of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, a two-time recipient of the State Prize of Russia and a recipient of both the National Humanities Medal and the Johan Skytte Prize, the most prestigious award in political science. The fellows will collaborate with faculty, researchers and students in the colleges of agriculture and life sciences, engineering, medicine and science; Texas A&M AgriLife Research; and the Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering. Fellows will spend one month at Texas A&M per year over three years.

An official induction ceremony will take place in 2022.

The Hagler Institute for Advanced Study was established in December 2010 by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents to provide a framework to attract top scholars from throughout the nation and abroad for appointments of up to a year. The selection of Hagler Fellows initiates with faculty nominations of National Academies and Nobel Prize-calibre scholars who align with Texas A&M's existing strengths and ambitions.

  1. 2022 (1)
    1. January (1)
  2. 2021 (34)
    1. December (1)
    2. November (2)
    3. October (2)
    4. September (4)
    5. August (3)
    6. July (5)
    7. June (2)
    8. May (5)
    9. April (1)
    10. March (2)
    11. February (2)
    12. January (5)
  3. 2020 (22)
    1. December (1)
    2. November (6)
    3. October (5)
    4. September (2)
    5. August (1)
    6. June (1)
    7. May (1)
    8. April (2)
    9. March (1)
    10. January (2)
  4. 2019 (14)
  5. 2018 (15)
  6. 2017 (19)
  7. 2016 (22)
  8. 2015 (30)
  9. 2014 (12)
  10. 2013 (7)
  11. 2012 (9)
  12. 2011 (3)
  13. 2010 (6)
  14. 2009 (1)