Faculty of Science awarded funding for innovative and high-quality research and technology

Tuesday, August 17, 2021

Establishing and supporting innovative research projects is an important priority for the University of Waterloo. The Canadian Foundation for Innovation’s John R. Evans Leaders Fund has recognized four Faculty of Science researchers to embarking upon research or technology development that is innovative, high quality and meets international standards.

The Department of Physics and Astronomy would like to congratulate Crystal Senko as one of the award recipients.

Crystal Senko, Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was awarded $202,421 for the project Laboratory for Trapped Ion Quantum Computing with Nonidentical Qubits. Senko’s research focuses on using trapped ions for quantum simulations and quantum computing applications. Her work also explores using electrons to represent multiple levels of encryption, known as qudits and how to improve the efficiency of encoding a logical unit of information using the multiple levels of a qudit. 

There were a total of 21 projects selected for funding at Waterloo. A total of 332 projects were funded province wide though this initiative. This funding helps institutions recruit and retain outstanding researchers, acquire the tools that enable the innovative work of leading researchers and offer research support.