You are here

University Research Chairs

The University of Waterloo owes much of its reputation and stature to the quality of its professors and their scholarly accomplishments. University of Waterloo recognizes exceptional achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge through the designation 'University Research Chair' - a title which may be held for up to seven years, with the possibility of a re-nomination. A faculty member with this title will receive either a teaching reduction of one course per year or an annual stipend of $10,000, which will be allocated to the Department/School if teaching reduction is chosen. The University Research Chair title and benefits will be relinquished if a Canada Research Chair or other major research chair is awarded.

It is anticipated that there will be a limited number of University Research Chairs; at steady state, the intention is to make at most five appointments each year. The number of appointments will be reviewed annually by the Vice-President Academic & Provost in consultation with Deans' Council and the program will be reviewed after an initial period of five to ten years.

Selection pr​​ocess

  1. A faculty Dean may forward one [Applied Health Sciences, Environmental Studies] or two [Arts, Engineering, Mathematics, Science] nominations of CRC-eligible faculty members per calendar year to the Vice-President Academic & Provost, who will make the final decision.
  2. A nomination must be accompanied by a curriculum vitae and a short, non-technical description of the nominee's scholarly contributions, together with any other documentation the Dean considers necessary to make a compelling case. The Vice-President Academic & Provost will consult with the President of the Faculty Association before announcing such appointments.

Current University Research Chairs at the University of Waterloo

Name Department
Year awarded
Chris Bauch Applied Mathematics 2013
Jason Bell Pure Mathematics 2013
Carole Bernard Statistics & Actuarial Science
Jeff Chen Physics & Astronomy 2016
Pu Chen Chemical Engineering 2015
Thomas Coleman Combinatorics & Optimization
Duane Cronin Mechanical & Mechatronics Engineering 2016
Richard Culham Mechanical & Mechatronics Engineering
Claude Duguay Geography & Environmental Management 2015
Xianshe Feng Chemical Engineering 2016
James Forrest Physics & Astronomy
James Geelen Combinatorics & Optimization 2014
Ian Goldberg School of Computer Science 2012
Elizabeth Irving School of Optometry and Vision Science 2012
Shesha Jayaram Electrical & Computer Engineering 2012
Lyndon Jones School of Optometry and Vision Science 2012
Lila Kari School of Computer Science 2015
Fakhreddine Karray Electrical & Computer Engineering
Achim Kempf Applied Mathematics 2014
Debbie Leung Combinatorics & Optimization 2015
Xianguo Li Mechanical & Mechatronics Engineering 2014
John Long Electrical and Computer Engineering 2015
Qing-Bin Lu Physics & Astronomy 2014
Mark Matsen Chemical Engineering 2014
Ravi Mazumdar Electrical & Computer Engineering 2013
Bill McIlroy Kinesiology
Brian McNamara Physics & Astronomy
Michele Mosca Combinatorics & Optimization 2012
Richard Oakley Chemistry
Daniel Scott Geography & Environmental Management 2014
Sivabal Sivaloganathan Applied Mathematics
Heidi Swanson Biology 2015
Michael Tam Chemical Engineering
Ken Seng Tan Statistics & Actuarial Science
Ehsan Toyserkani Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering 2015
Grace Yi Statistics and Actuarial Science
Norman Zhou Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering 2013

Past University Research Chairs at the University of Waterloo

Name Department
Year awarded
Melanie Campbell Physics & Astronomy
Timothy Chan School of Computer Science
Bill Cunningham Combinatorics & Optimization
Robert de Loe Environment & Resource Studies 2008
John English History
John Holmes Psychology
Peter Huck Civil Engineering
Richard Hughson Kinesiology
Mohamed Kamel Electrical & Computer Engineering 2008
Ellsworth LeDrew Geography
Bin Ma School of Computer Science 2008
Ravi Mazumdar Electrical & Computer Engineering
Brian McNamara Physics & Astronomy 2008
Elizabeth Meiering Chemistry 2005
Wendy Mitchinson History
Flora Ng Chemical Engineering 2006
Tamer Ozsu School of Computer Science
Catherine Rosenberg Electrical & Computer Engineering
Pierre-Nicholas Roy Chemistry 2008
Manoj Sachdev Electrical & Computer Engineering 2008
Magdy Salama Electrical & Computer Engineering
Sherry Schiff Earth Sciences 2007
Sherman Shen Electrical & Computer Engineering 2007
Joao Soares Chemical Engineering 2012
Doug Stinson School of Computer Science
Paul Thagard Philosophy 2005
Stephen Vavasis Combinatorics and Optimization 2006
Matt Vijayan Biology
Frances Westley School of Environment, Enterprise & Development 2007
Tony Wirjanto School of Accounting & Finance 2009