Dr. Ben Thompson named an inaugural Excellence in Science Research Award winner

Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Dr. Ben Thompson headshot
The School of Optometry & Vision Science’s Dr. Ben Thompson has been selected as one of the first recipients for the new Excellence in Science Research Award, presented by Waterloo’s Faculty of Science.

This award was established by the Faculty of Science’s Associate Dean of Research, alongside the Science Research Advisory Committee to recognize outstanding research accomplishments by Science’s faculty members. Each year, one tenure-track and two tenured faculty members will be recognized. It is our hope that these awards will significantly increase the research profile of our faculty members in Science, and for those who receive them, strengthen subsequent nominations for external research awards.

Dr. Ben Thompson from the School of Optometry and Vision Science is one of two tenured faculty member selected for this year’s award. His research goals are to understand the mechanisms that control neuroplasticity in the human brain and to apply this knowledge to the treatment of eye and brain disorders.

"I am honoured to receive this award. I am hopeful that the award will generate opportunities to form new interdisciplinary collaborations with my colleagues within the Faculty of Science and the University of Waterloo as a whole," says Dr. Thompson.

Dr. Thompson is one of three award winners, alongside his Science colleagues Professor Avery Broderick (Physics and Astronomy) and Professor Barb Katzenback (Biology).