A group of students and faculty smiling
Friday, June 21, 2024

Waterloo Pharmacy celebrates the 2024 Graduate Student Awards Celebration

On June 20, 2024, Waterloo Pharmacy celebrated its newly graduated PhD, MSc and MPharm graduate students and graduate student award winners.

The School has recognized the excellence and achievements of our graduate students annually since 2013. Our graduate students have a positive impact on clinical pharmacy, pharmacy practice, pharmaceutical sciences, pharmacoepidemiology and pharmacoeconomics.

This year's award winners include:

  • Highest Final Grade in PHARM610: Topics in Drug Development – Karyman Ghanem,PhD student and Qi David Sun, MSc student
  • Best Student Presentation in the Pharmacy Research Seminar Series – James Livingstone, PhD student, The Effects of Lithium Isotopes on Neuron Physiology
  • Best Graduate Student Teaching Assistant – Rahul Karuturi, PhD student
  • Substantial Impact on Overall Research Mission – Ali Syed, PhD candidate

We also presented the following awards:

  • Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award – Dr. Marianna Foldvari
  • Donald J. and Kathleen McDougall Scholarship  – Sam Hirniak, PhD student
  • Janet EA McDougall Graduate Scholarship in Pharmacy, MSc student – Bincy Baby
  • Janet EA McDougall Graduate Scholarship in Pharmacy, PhD student – Ahmed Hefny

The Spring 2024 convocation took place in June where we had several students graduate:

  • Yusheng Zhao, PhD
  • Baby Bincy, MSc
  • Sihan Dong, MSc
  • Yasaman Eskandari, MSc
  • Sakina Fatima, MSc
  • Merium Fernando, MSc
  • Emelien Jentz, MSc
  • Calvin Wong, MSc
  • Allan Tam, MPharm
  • Faisal Rauf, MPharm
A group of graduate students smiling

A group of Waterloo Pharmacy graduate students at the 2024 Graduate Student Awards Celebration.

We further acknowledge those who graduated during the Fall 2023 convocation ceremony:

  • Gurmeet Lall, PhD
  • Humayra Tasnim, MSc
  • Shirley Wang, MSc

Two students received dissertation awards in 2023:

  • Dean of Science Award – Shirley Wang, MSc
  • W.B. Pearson Medal – Wajd Alkabbani, PhD

Join us in congratulating all of our recent graduate students and award winners!