Sustainability Certificate

Students walking by SLC patio

Outcomes  |  Structure  |  Other notes  |  Sessions and registration


Waterloo's Sustainability Office, in collaboration with Organizational and Human Development, is excited to offer a Sustainability Certificate for employees of the University. The certificate builds upon the University's Environmental Sustainability Strategy's goal of embedding sustainability actions into campus culture. It recognizes that all employees will have a role to play in building a sustainable campus.


Outcomes

At the end of the certificate, employees will:

  • Have a basic understanding of key local and global sustainability issues, as well as efforts underway to address them
  • Become familiar the University’s sustainability objectives, contributions to global challenges, and connections to the Strategic Plan
  • Understand tools and resources to integrate sustainability into everyday actions on campus and at home
  • Identify the relevance of sustainability for their home department

Structure

To receive the certificate, an employee must:

  • Complete all seven sessions
  • Come to all session having read the pre-reads and be ready to engage with colleagues
  • Complete the short multiple choice quizzes after each session (5 minutes each)

Please note that Sustainability 101 is a prerequisite for all other sessions and must be completed before attending subsequent sessions. Sustainability 102-106 may be taken in any order of preference, and Sustainability 107 is a capstone once all other courses are completed.


Other notes

  • Certificate can be completed over multiple terms
  • Modules are free to any University employee
  • Cancellations with less than 24 hours notice or no-shows will be subject to a $50 charge to their department
  • For questions, please contact Andrea Bale (abale@uwaterloo.ca)

Sessions and registration

All sessions run from 12-1:30pm. You can register for each session through Workday by following these instructions:

  1. Log into your Workday profile
  2. Click on the Learning icon
  3. Click on Browse Learning (right hand menu)
  4. Search the course title in the search bar and click on the course
  5. Click Enroll (bottom left) and select the offering you'd like to attend

Note: We will schedule additional offerings based on demand. Please register on the waitlist if you are interested in taking a session so we can contact you as additional offerings are made available.  

Spring 2019 Course Outline
Course  Session Dates, Locations, and Registration
SUS101: Introduction to Sustainability

Thursday, May 16: EV1-221

Thursday, May 23: EV1-221

SUS102: Energy and Climate Change

Thursday, May 30: EV1-221

SUS103: Sustainable Travel

Tuesday, June 11: EV1-221

SUS104: Healthy and Sustainable Food

Thursday, June 27: EV1-221

SUS105: Reducing Your Material Footprint

Thursday, July 11: EV1-221

SUS106: Biodiversity and Nature

Thursday, July 25: EV1-221

SUS107: Sustainability Leadership

Thursday, August 8: EV1-221

Winter 2019 Course Outline
Course  Session Dates, Locations, and Registration
SUS101: Introduction to Sustainability

Thursday, January 17: EV1-221 (Register)

Thursday, January 24: EV1-221 (Register)

Thursday, January 31: EV1-221 (Register

SUS102: Energy and Climate Change

Thursday, February 7: EV1-221 (Register)

Thursday, February 14: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS103: Sustainable Travel

Thursday, February 21: EV1-221 (Register)

Thursday, February 28: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS104: Healthy and Sustainable Food

Tuesday, March 5: EV1-221 (Register)

Tuesday, March 12: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS105: Reducing Your Material Footprint

Thursday, March 21: EV1-221 (Register)

Thursday, March 28: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS106: Biodiversity and Nature

Thursday, April 4: EV1-221 (Register)

Thursday, April 11: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS107: Sustainability Leadership

Thursday, April 18: EV1-221 (Register)

Thursday, April 25: EV1-221 (Register)