You are here

Sustainability Certificate

Students walking by SLC patio

Outcomes  |  Structure  |  Other notes  |  Sessions and registration


Waterloo's Sustainability Office, in collaboration with Organizational and Human Development, is excited to offer a Sustainability Certificate for employees of the University. The certificate builds upon the University's Environmental Sustainability Strategy's goal of embedding sustainability actions into campus culture. It recognizes that all employees will have a role to play in building a sustainable campus.


Outcomes

At the end of the certificate, employees will:

  • Have a basic understanding of key local and global sustainability issues, as well as efforts underway to address them
  • Become familiar the University’s sustainability objectives, contributions to global challenges, and connections to the Strategic Plan
  • Understand tools and resources to integrate sustainability into everyday actions on campus and at home
  • Identify the relevance of sustainability for their home department

Structure

To receive the certificate, an employee must:

  • Complete all seven sessions
  • Come to all session having read the pre-reads and be ready to engage with colleagues
  • Complete the short multiple choice quizzes after each session (5 minutes each)

Please note that Sustainability 101 is a prerequisite for all other sessions and must be completed before attending subsequent sessions. Sustainability 102-106 may be taken in any order of preference, and Sustainability 107 is a capstone once all other courses are completed.


Other notes

  • Certificate can be completed over multiple terms
  • Modules are free to any University employee
  • Cancellations with less than 24 hours notice or no-shows will be subject to a $50 charge to their department
  • For questions, please contact Andrea Bale (abale@uwaterloo.ca)

Sessions and registration

All sessions run from noon-1:30.

Note: We will schedule additional offerings based on demand. Please register on the waitlist if you are interested in taking a session so we can contact you as additional offerings are made available.  

Fall 2018 Course Outline
Course  Session Dates, Locations, and Registration
SUS101: Introduction to Sustainability

Wednesday, September 12: EV1-221 (Register)

Wednesday, September 26: EV1-221 (Register)

Tuesday, October 9: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS102: Energy and Climate Change

Wednesday, October 10: EV1-221 (Register)

Tuesday, October 16: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS103: Sustainable Travel

Wednesday, October 17: EV1-221 (Register)

Tuesday, October 23: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS104: Healthy and Sustainable Food

Wednesday, October 31: EV1-221 (Register)

Tuesday, November 6: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS105: Reducing Your Material Footprint

Wednesday, November 14: EV1-221 (Register)

Tuesday, November 20: HH-373* (Register

*Previously scheduled in EV1-221, will now be held in HH-373.

SUS106: Biodiversity and Nature

Wednesday, November 28: EV1-221 (Register)

Wednesday, December 5: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS107: Sustainability Leadership

Wednesday, December 12: EV1-221 (Register)

Tuesday, December 18: EV1-221 (Register)

Spring 2018 Course Outline
Course  Session Dates, Locations, and Registration
SUS101: Introduction to Sustainability

Wednesday, May 23: EV3-3412 (Register)

Tuesday, May 29: EV1-132 (Register)

Wednesday, June 13: EV3-3412 (Register)

SUS102: Energy and Climate Change

Wednesday, June 6: EV3-3412 (Register)

Thursday, June 28: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS103: Sustainable Travel

Tuesday, June 19: EV1-132 (Register)

Thursday, July 5: EV1-221 (Register)

SUS104: Healthy and Sustainable Food

Wednesday, July 4: EV3-3412 (Register)

Tuesday, July 10: EV1-221 (Register) 

SUS105: Reducing Your Material Footprint

Wednesday, July 18: EV3-3412 (Register)

Tuesday, July 31: EV1-221 (Register) 

SUS106: Biodiversity and Nature

Wednesday, August 1: EV3-3412 (Register)

Tuesday, September 11: EV1-221 (Regiser)

SUS107: Sustainability Leadership

Tuesday, August 14: EV3-4412 (Register)

Thursday, September 27: EV1-221 (Register)