Filter by:

Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Date range
Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Limit to news where the title matches:
Limit to news items tagged with one or more of:
Limit to news items where the audience is one or more of:

The Governor General Gold Medal, one of the highest honours in academia and research in Canada, is awarded to Dr. Tejinder Singh, who graduated in 2020 from the Faculty of Engineering, has received the medal for highest standing in a doctoral program. It is the most prestigious award a graduate can attain in a Canadian university. The university nominates only one PhD graduate with highest academic standing from all fields of study. This medal celebrates the impactful research and scholarly excellence.

Electrical and computer engineering alumnus, Dr. Tejinder Singh, has won the Young Engineer Prize for his work on "Reconfigurable PCM GeTe-Based Latching 6-Bit Digital Switched Capacitor Bank" presented at the 2020 European Microwave Integrated Circuits Conference (EuMIC). 

ECE’s Huayong (Johnny) Jia, PhD student under the supervision of Professor Raafat Mansour, was awarded the 3rd place Best Student Paper prize in the Student Paper Contest at the 2020 Applied Superconductivity Conference (ASC) [Virtual] for his research on “Wide-band Triplexer Realized in Niobium-Based Multilayer Substrate.”

Dr. Tejinder Singh, former PhD student and currently a Research Associate under the supervision of Professor Raafat Mansour, was awarded Best Paper award with Honorable Mention among Top 10 papers at the prestigious 2021 IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium (IMS) in Atlanta, GA for his research on “Scalable Non-Volatile Chalcogenide Phase Change GeTe-Based Monolithically Integrated mmWave Crossbar Switch Matrix.”

Navjot Khaira and Armin Smajevic of CIRFEreceived Engineering Excellence Fellowships. These fellowships are awarded to the top candidates in Engineering fields. 

Navjot is currently holding an Ontario Graduate Scholarship (OGS), a competitive provicial graduate scholarship. Navjot and Armin also received President's Graduate Scholarship for the duration of their fellowships.

Congratulations Navjot and Armin!

Tejinder Singh, PhD student under the supervision of Professor Raafat Mansour, wins 1st place Best Paper award at the 2018 IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Workshop Series on Advanced Materials and Processes for RF and THz Applications (IMWS-AMP) held in Ann Arbor, MI, USA for his research on “Chalcogenide Phase Change Material GeTe Based Inline RF SPST Series and Shunt Switches.”