Seminar - “Multifunctional Materials for Electronics and Photonics”, Federico Rosei, UNESCO Chair in Materials and Technologies for Energy Conversion, Saving and Storage, Centre for Energy, Materials and Telecommunications, INRS, Varennes (QC), Canada

Thursday, June 30, 2016 3:30 pm - 3:30 pm EDT (GMT -04:00)

ABSTRACT: The bottom–up approach is considered a potential alternative for low cost manufacturing of nanostructured materials [1]. It is based on the concept of self–assembly of nanostructures on a substrate, and is emerging as an alternative paradigm for traditional top down fabrication used in the semiconductor industry. We demonstrate various strategies to control nanostructure assembly (both organic and inorganic) at the nanoscale. We study, in particular, multifunctional materials, namely materials that exhibit more than one functionality, and structure/property relationships in such systems, including for example: (i) control of size and luminescence properties of semiconductor nanostructures, synthesized by reactive laser ablation [2]; (ii) we developed new experimental tools and comparison with simulations are presented to gain atomic scale insight into the surface processes that govern nucleation, growth and assembly [3-7]; (iii) we devised new strategies for synthesizing multifunctional nanoscale materials to be used for electronics and photovoltaics [8-25].


[1] F. Rosei, J. Phys. Cond. Matt. 16, S1373 (2004); [2] D. Riabinina et al., Phys. Rev. B 74, 075334 (2006); [3] K. Dunn et al., Phys. Rev. B 80, 035330 (2009); [4] F. Ratto et al., Small 2, 401 (2006); [5] F. Ratto et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 96, 096193 (2006); [6] F. Ratto et al., Nanotechnology 19, 265703 (2008); [7] F. Ratto et al., Surf. Sci., 602, 249 (2008); [8] C. Yan et al., Adv. Mater. 22, 1741 (2010); [9] C. Yan et al., J. Am. Chem. Soc. 132, 8868 (2010); [10] R. Nechache et al., Adv. Mater. 23, 1724–1729 (2011); [11] R. Nechache et al., Appl. Phys. Lett. 98, 202902 (2011); [12] G. Chen et al., Chem. Comm. 48, 8009–8011 (2012); [13] G. Chen et al., Adv. Func. Mater. 22, 3914–3920 (2012); [14] R. Nechache et al., Nanoscale 4, 5588–5592 (2012); [15] J. Toster et al., Nanoscale 5, 873–876 (2013); [16] T. Dembele et al., J. Power Sources 233, 93–97 (2013); [17] S. Li et al., Chem. Comm. 49, 5856–5858 (2013); [18] T. Dembele et al., J. Phys. Chem. C 117, 14510–14517 (2013); [19] R. Nechache et al., Nature Photonics 9, 61 (2015).

Bio-sketch:  Federico Rosei has held the Canada Research Chair in Nanostructured Organic and Inorganic Materials since 2003. He is Professor and Director of Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Énergie, Matériaux et Télécommunications, Université du Québec, Varennes (QC) Canada. Since January 2014 he holds the UNESCO Chair in Materials and Technologies for Energy Conversion, Saving and Storage. He received MSc and PhD degrees from the University of Rome “La Sapienza” in 1996 and 2001, respectively.

Dr. Rosei’s research interests focus on the properties of nanostructured materials, and on how to control their size, shape, composition, stability and positioning when grown on suitable substrates. He has extensive experience in fabricating, processing and characterizing inorganic, organic and biocompatible nanomaterials. He has published over 210 articles in prestigious international journals (including Science, Nature Photonics, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Advanced Materials, Angewandte Chemie Int. Ed., Journal of the American Chemical Society, Advanced Functional Materials, Nanoletters, ACS Nano, Biomaterials, Small, Physical Review Letters, Nanoscale, Chem. Comm., Applied Physics Letters, Physical Review B, etc.), has been invited to speak at over 210 international conferences and has given over 170 seminars and colloquia and 20 public lectures in 42 countries on all inhabited continents. His publications have been cited over 6200 times and his H index is 42.

In 2014, he has been elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He is Member of the European Academy of Sciences, Fellow of the American Physical Society, Honorary Fellow of the Chinese Chemical Society, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow of SPIE, Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, Fellow of ASM International, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), Fellow of the Institute of Physics, Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology, Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Metallurgy and Mining, Fellow of the Institute of Nanotechnology, Senior Member of the IEEE, Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada, Member of the Global Young Academy, Fellow of the Australian Institute of Physics and Member of the Sigma Xi Society.

He has received several awards and honours, including the FQRNT Strategic Professorship (2002–2007), the Tan Chin Tuan visiting Fellowship (NTU 2008), the Senior Gledden Visiting Fellowship (UWA 2009), Professor at Large at UWA (2010–2012), a Marie Curie Post-Doctoral Fellowship from the European Union (2001), a Canada Research Chair (2003–2013), a Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Award from the Alexander von Humboldt foundation (2011), the Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry (Royal Society of Canada 2011), the Herzberg Medal (Canadian Association of Physics 2013), the Brian Ives lectureship award (ASM international / Canada Council 2013), the Award for Excellence in Materials Chemistry (Canadian Society for Chemistry 2014), the NSERC EWR Steacie Memorial Fellowship (2014), the José Vasconcelos Award for Education (World Cultural Council 2014), the IEEE NTC Distinguished Lectureship 2015, the Lash Miller Award (Canada Section, Electrochemical Society 2015), the Chang Jiang Scholar Award (Government of China), the Khwarizmi International Award (2nd Laureate) from the Iran Research Organization for Science and Technology (IROST), the Recognition for Excellence in Leadership from the American Vacuum Society, the Selby Fellowship from the Australian Academy of Sciences and the John C. Polanyi Award (Canadian Society for Chemistry 2016).