Research Chairs

The Department of Chemical Engineering has a long history of excellence in a diverse range of research areas. Our research chairs enhance these strengths, set the course for research into exciting new topics and enrich the department’s research environment. 

The following faculty members have been awarded research chairs, either by the university or the Government of Canada, in recognition of their research leadership, distinguished record of research and scholarship, and continued contributions to their profession.

University Research Chairs

Endowed Chairs 

  • Boxin Zhao: University of Waterloo Endowed Chair in Nanotechnology 
  • Jeff Gostick: Azzam-Dullien Endowed Professorship

Canada Research Chair, Tier I

  • Michael Fowler:  Zero-Emission Vehicles and Hydrogen Energy Systems

Canada Research Chair, Tier II