Filter by:

Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Date range
Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Limit to news where the title matches:
Limit to news items tagged with one or more of:
Limit to news items where the audience is one or more of:

Congratulations to former PhD students, Mushu Li, Nan Cheng, Jie Gao, Yinlu Wang, and Lian Zhao, and Professor Sherman Shen for winning the IEEE Best Land Transportation Paper Award for their paper: “Energy-Efficient UAV-Assisted Mobile Edge Computing: Resource Allocation and Trajectory Optimization,” IEEE Trans Veh. Techn., Vol. 69, No. 3, pp. 3424-3438, February 2020.

Electrical and computer engineering professor, Kankar Bhattacharya has been selected as the 2024 recipient of the esteemed IEEE Canada P.D. Ziogas Electric Power Silver Medal Award. His important contributions to the field of Electrical Power Engineering have distinguished him as an outstanding Canadian Engineer. The award will be presented to Professor Bhattacharya at an awards gala in August as part of IEEE’s flagship conference, the IEEE Canadian Conference on Electrical and Computer Engineering (CCECE 2024) in Kingston, Ontario.

Congratulations to electrical and computer engineering PhD student, Ahmed Elbaroudy! Ahmed’s paper was selected as winner of the North American Conference on Molecular Beam Epitaxy (NAMBE 2023) Best Journal Paper Award! The paper entitled “Observation of an abrupt 3D-2D morphological transition in thin Al layers grown by MBE on InGaAs surface,” was chosen by the NAMBE Advisory Board from papers presented at the 37th North American Conference on Molecular Beam Epitaxy (NAMBE 2023) and published in JVST A.

The Government of Canada announced funding for several University of Waterloo faculty members through the New Frontiers Research Fund (NFRF).

“The New Frontiers in Research Fund supports high-risk, high-reward Canadian projects with the potential to spark transformational innovations,” said Charmaine Dean, vice-president, Research and International. “This year’s awardees from the University of Waterloo represent a variety of truly impactful research areas, including equitable approaches to climate change adaptation and improving eye health outcomes in children. Congratulations to the 2024 winners.”

Today, fifty-four new Fellows were elected to the Canadian Academy of Engineering - two of those new Fellows are University of Waterloo electrical and computer engineering professors – professors Ladan Tahvildari and Alfred Yu.

The Academy's President, Dr. Soheil Asgarpour commented: “Over the past 37 years, Fellows of the Academy have provided engineering leadership in the fields of education, infrastructure, innovation, energy, transportation, and many more. New Fellows have been selected for their outstanding contributions to engineering in Canada and around the world and for their service as role models in their fields and to their communities.”

Electrical and computer engineering professor, Claudio Cañizares, has been elected Fellow of the Chinese Society for Electrical Engineering (CSEE) for his outstanding contributions in the field of electrical engineering science and technology. Founded in 1934 in Shanghai, the CSEE's members include over 120,000 individual engineers and over 1000 organizations.

New collaboration will allow quantum researchers to study effects of solar radiation on quantum computing

A new collaboration between researchers from the Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC) at the University of Waterloo, SNOLAB near Sudbury, Ontario, and Chalmers University of Technology in Sweden has been awarded a new grant to investigate the impact of radiation and cosmic rays on quantum technologies.

This grant, “Advanced Characterization and Mitigation of Qubit Decoherence in a Deep Underground Environment,” sponsored by the Army Research Office, a directorate of the U.S Combat Capabilities Development Command’s Army Research Laboratory, has been awarded to Dr. Chris Wilson, a faculty member at IQC and professor in Waterloo’s Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, alongside Dr. Jeter Hall, Director of Research at SNOLAB and adjunct professor at Laurentian University, and Dr. Per Delsing, professor at Chalmers University of Technology and director of the Wallenberg Center for Quantum Technology.

Electrical and computer engineering professor, Xuemin (Sherman) Shen, has been elected an International Fellow of The Engineering Academy of Japan (EAJ). The EAJ is composed of leading experts from academia, industry, and government institutions who possess a wide range of knowledge and have made outstanding contributions in engineering and technological sciences, and closely related fields.

Electrical and computer engineering professor, Amir-Hossein Karimi is the recipient of this term's Igor Ivkovic Teaching Excellence Award for his commitment and dedication to teaching the course ECE 457B.

Each term the Engineering Society welcomes nominations from students to recognize lecturers, professors, or laboratory instructors from the Faculty of Engineering who exemplify the spirit of Professor Igor Ivkovic’s teaching, through employing non-conventional teaching techniques, allowing opportunities for experiential learning, and showing a commitment and dedication towards ensuring the academic success of students. 

Today, in E7 from 10am to 3pm, the next big breakthrough in Canadian technology could be among the Waterloo Electrical and Computer Engineering student projects on display at the annual Capstone Design symposia at the University of Waterloo. Our students will showcase the projects they have spent months designing and building.