Friend of the Faculty Impact Award

Photo of Award Winner
The Faculty of Environment Friend of the Faculty Award was established in 2019 to recognize individuals, companies or organizations who have supported the Faculty’s mission and goals through volunteerism, promotion, philanthropic leadership, collaboration or active participation.

Meet our incredible 2021 recipient, Intact Financial Corporation

Do you know an exceptional friend or alumnus?

We would love to consider them for one of our awards. Please complete click the link below to nominate them today. It only takes 5 minutes and you could be helping us discover our next award recipient! 


Nominee eligibility

  • An individual, company, organization, group or foundation whose support of the Faculty of Environment has had significant impact.
  • Excludes current University of Waterloo faculty and staff.

Selection criteria

Accomplishments or impact based, including but not limited to:

  • volunteerism;
  • promotion or publicity of the Faculty;
  • fundraising efforts;
  • financial assistance;
  • hiring graduates and coop students;
  • research collaborations;
  • government support;
  • University governance; and/or
  • participation as speaker or lecturer.

Nomination process

  • Complete the online Nomination Form by April 30.
  • The Nominating Committee will put forward the top candidates for each category to the Selection Committee.
  • The Selection Committee will review the nominees to select a recipient for each for each award.
  • The award will be given out at the annual Awards Dinner each fall.
Note: nominations are accepted throughout the year but will be awarded based on the above timeline.

Past recipients


Woman smiling for picture

Anne-Marie Marais

BES 1995, Urban & Regional Planning


Man posing for picture standing and leaning on table

MHBC Planning Urban Design and Landscape Architecture

Current President, Brian Zeman


Barb Turley=McIntyre

Barbara Turley-McIntyre

MEB 2014, Master of Environment and Business


Neil Smiley

Neil Smiley

BES 1984, Urban & Regional Planning


Sheryl Kennedy

Sheryl Kennedy

BES 1976, Urban & Regional Planning