Faculty of Environment Alumni Awards

Environment alumni are shaping our sustainable future

All across the world, Faculty of Environment alumni are making the world a better place. From Argentina to Zimbabwe and 80 countries in-between, alumni are working to improve their communities and the planet as urban planners, policymakers, scientists and educators. Some run businesses, others consult industry, and some start nonprofit organizations. Whether they are working for the public or private sector, and regardless of the program they graduate from, a common thread ties environment alumni together - they care and they want their work to matter.

The Faculty of Environment is proud of every one of its alumni and all the ways they contribute to a safer, more equitable, and more sustainable planet. Each year, we are honoured to recognize some of our most illustrious graduates through our annual awards program. 

Congratulations to our 2022 award recipients:

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award

Honours an alumnus 10 or more years post-graduation who has demonstrated outstanding professional achievement, proven community impact, and significant contribution to sustainability. 

Chris Derksen

Chris Derksen

BES '97, Geography | MA '98, Geography | PhD '01, Geography

Research Scientist, Environment & Climate Change Canada

Chris is a world-leading expert on snow with expertise spanning conventional observations, remote sensing, and climate model analysis. His research activities focus on the role of snow cover in the climate system and the implications of climate change on snow, including freshwater availability, Arctic ecosystems, and the carbon cycle.           [Read more]


Recognizes graduates of the last 10 years who inspire the next generation of Environment grads through their professional achievements, community impact, and contributions to sustainability.

professional woman smiling

Laura Maxwell

MDP '17, Development Practice

Manager, Sustainability & Social Impact at Deloitte

Laura co-leads Deloitte’s social impact offering, working with environmentally minded and impact-focused organizations and their leaders as they advance progress on pressing societal challenges. This includes leading sustainability initiatives for clients in a broad range of sectors to build and evaluate impact-driven programs and strategies that created shared economic and societal value.  [Read more]


Acknowledges an individual, company, organization, group, or foundation who has had a positive and substantial impact on the Faculty of Environment through volunteerism, promotion, financial assistance, collaboration, and/or participation.  

Professional woman smiling

Intact Financial Corporation

Accepted by Carla Smith, Executive Vice President & Chief People, Strategy and Climate Officer

Intact Financial Corporation is Canada’s largest property and casualty insurer and one of the University of Waterloo and Faculty of Environment’s strongest and most impactful partners. Intact’s partnership with the university spans more than a decade. Their foundational donation in 2015 helped establish the Intact Centre on Climate Adaptation, a renowned applied research centre that helps homeowners, communities and businesses reduce risks associated with climate change and extreme weather events while working with government to advise on policy and action. [Read more]


Do you know an exceptional friend or alumnus?

We would love to consider them for one of our awards. Please click the link below to nominate them today. It only takes 5 minutes and you could be helping us discover our next award recipient! 

Past recipients

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award   



Derek ColemanDerek Coleman

PhD ' 74, Regional Planning & Resource Devt

President, Ages Consultants Limited

Maureen ReedMaureen Reed

PhD '91, Geography

Assistant Director, School of Environment and Sustainability, University of Saskatchewan

Young Alumni Inspiration Award

Friend of the Faculty Award



Eric KennedyEric Kennedy

BKI '12, Knowledge Integration

Assistant Professor, Disaster & Emergency Management, York University

Anne Marie MaraisAnne-Marie Marais

BES '95, Urban & Regional Planning

Founder, Long Legs Media

Friend of the Faculty Award

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 

Young Alumni Inspiration Award 



Wanjiku ChiuriWanjiku Chiuri

PhD '96, Regional Planning and Resource Development

Eryn StewartEryn Stewart

BES '15, Environment and Business

Friend of the Faculty Award


Barb Turley McIntyreBarb Turley-McIntyre

MEB '14, Environment and Business 


Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 

Young Alumni Inspiration Award 



thonas MuellerThomas Mueller

MA '92, Planning

Jennifer MartinJennifer Martin

MDP '14, Development Practice


Friend of the Faculty Impact Award


Sheryl Kennedy

Sheryl Kennedy

BES '76, Urban & Regional Planning

Neil Smiley

Neil Smiley

BES '84, Urban & Regional Planning




Kevin o'ReillyKevin O'Reilly

BES, '81, Man-Environment
MA '84, Regional Planning & Resource Development

Dominique SourisDominique Souris

BES '16, Environment & Resource Studies
MA '18, Global Governance 



Scott ThompsonScott Douglas Thompson

BES, '82, Urban & Regional Planning

Tania ChengTania Cheng

BES '10, Environment and Resources Studies

Bryan TuckeyBryan Tuckey

BES '78, Urban & Regional Planning
MA '80, Regional Plan and Resource Development




Steve ThompsonSteve Thompson 

MAES ’00, Local Economic Development

Nirvana ChampionNirvana Champion

MAES ’11, Local Economic Development



Carol LaytonCarol Layton

BES ’80, Geography

Taarini ChopraTaarini Chopra

MES ’13, Environment and Resources Studies



Mike KabbeMike Labbé

BES ’75, Urban & Regional Planning

Macintosh BalacanoMacintosh Balacano  

BES '12, Environment & Business



Deirdre LaframboiseDeirdre Laframboise

BES '84, Man-Environment

Sarah BrownSarah Brown  

BES '08, Environment & Business

Ian MacNaughtonIan MacNaughton  

BA' 68, Urban & Regional Planning MA' 71, Regional Plan & Resource Development

Caustan De RiggsCaustan De Riggs

BES '08, Environment & Business



Jim Davidson

Jim Davidson

BES 1980, Geography




Steven Franklin

Steven Franklin

BES 1980, Geography, MA 1982, Geography, PhD 1985, Geography




Barbara Mason

Barbara F. Mason

BES 1981, Geography




Linda Mortsch

Linda Mortsch  

BES 1979, Geography, MES 2001, Geography




Susan Cartwright

Susan M. Cartwright

MA 1981, Geography


Terry Fenge

Terry Fenge  

PhD 1982, Regional Planning & Resource Development


Don Fleming

Don Fleming

BES 1970, Urban & Regional Planning


Toshikazu Mito

Toshikazu Mito

MAES 2003, Local Economic Development