Core research team

RoboHub's core research team consists of six Engineering professors who are actively engaged in all sectors of the robotics industry.

For details on any of the core research team's specific research interests and backgrounds, check out their profiles below.

These researchers work closely with both the extended research team here at Waterloo, as well as our on- and off-campus collaborators, to find solutions to problems that span the RoboHub's foundational research themes: control, planning, perception, and interaction.

Kerstin Dautenhahn

Professor and Canada 150 Research Chair

Professor Kerstin Dautenhahn is the Canada 150 Research Chair in Intelligent Robotics and has pioneered research in social robotics, human-robot interaction and assistive robotics.


William Melek

Professor, University Research Chair, and RoboHub Director

Professor William Melek is the RoboHub Director, a University Research Chair, and leads the Laboratory of Computational Intelligence and Automation. He is an expert on robotics, artificial intelligence, sensing, and state estimation.

Katja Mombaur

Professor and Canada Excellence Research Chair

Professor Katja Mombaur is the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Human-Centred Robotics and Machine Intelligence. She is an expert on human-robot interaction, wearable and humanoid robots, and human motion analysis.

Chris Nielsen

Associate Professor

Professor Chris Nielsen is a leading authority on nonlinear control systems and the mathematical design of feedback control laws.

Stephen L. Smith

Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair

Professor Stephen L. Smith is the Canada Research Chair in Autonomous Systems and an expert in both robotic motion planning and the distributed control of autonomous systems.