Rob Danisch.

Robert Danisch

Associate Professor
rdanisch@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 48603
Location: ML 236B

Robert Danisch has a PhD in Communication from the University of Pittsburgh (2004) and a BA from the University of Virginia in History and Philosophy.

Andy Houston

Andrew Houston

Associate Professor

houston@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 47029
Location: ML 119B

Andy Houston earned his BA in Drama and Sociology from the University of Guelph (1989), where he was awarded a College of Arts Medal.

Anders Bergstrom

Lecturer

ajbergstrom@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 47955
Location: ML 309

Anders is a film and media scholar, with a background in literature, composition, and critical theory.

waist to head shot of Paul Cegys

Paul Cegys

Lecturer

pcegys@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 47911
Location: ML 129

Paul Cegys’ work merges multiple practices of performance creation and design, from theatre and opera to site-specific installation and intermedial VR/MR scenographies.

William Chesney.

William Chesney

Professor Emeritus

wchesney@uwaterloo.ca
(226) 339 - 3954
 

KC Collins

KC Collins

Associate Professor

collinsk@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 48326
Location: ECH 2112

KC Collins’ research focuses on  sound and music in technology, and explores how new technologies impact our auditory experience. This research has included studies of sound on smart tables (horizontal computers), mobile phones, video games, and slot machines.

photo of Kevin Carey

Kevin Carey

Lecturer

kcarey@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 46820
Location: ML 240

Kevin is an interdisciplinary teacher-scholar (English/Rhetoric PhD, Russian Literature MA, Philosophy BA) whose work focuses on higher education and its discontents.

photo of Jordana Cox

Jordana Cox

Assistant Professor

j8cox@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 46809
Location: ML 243

My scholarship bridges communication studies, performance history, and the public humanities.

Ceylan Enver

Administrative Coordinator and Advisor, Undergraduate Studies
cenver@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 45808
Location: ML 233  

Ceylan (pronounced Jaylan) is your contact for student advising (course selection, academic planning, degree audits, coop sequence changes etc.); Scheduling (SPCOM, DAC and THPERF courses and exams); Undergraduate Calendar updates and changes for all programs in the department.

Shannon Hartling

Shannon Hartling

Lecturer

shartling@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 48997
Location: ML 257B


Shannon Hartling has a PhD in English (2003) and an MA and BA in English from the University of Waterloo.

David Janzen

Lecturer

david.janzen@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 43383
Location: ML 308

David Janzen’s teaching and research takes an interdisciplinary approach to environmental and science communication, cultural and decolonial studies, and crisis theory.

Naila Keleta-Mae

Naila Keleta-Mae

Associate Professor

nailakm@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 42198
Location: ML 131

Naila Keleta-Mae holds a PhD in Theatre Studies (York University), an MFA in Theatre (York University) and a BA with distinction (Concordia University).

Sarah Klein

Assistant Professor
sarah.klein@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 48477
Location: ML 254A  

Sarah’s research centers on how methods travel across time and space.

Gill Lesperance.

Gill Lesperance - (On Leave)

Director of Technical Theatre

thperf.td@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 47085
Location: ML 121

Gill’s career in technical theatre started with a garage sale and some speakers a neighbour no longer needed, and coupled with a general contractor for a father who was also a radio host, an odd career choice developed for this Penetanguishene native.

Sorouja Moll

Sorouja Moll

Lecturer

smoll@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 41985
Location: ML 238

Sorouja Moll has a PhD in Humanities (Concordia) specializing in the fields of Communication, English, and Art History.

Lennart Nacke

Lennart Nacke

Associate Professor

lennart.nacke@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 47822
Location: ML 239

Professor Nacke teaches User Experience, Human-Computer Interaction, and Game Design at the University of Waterloo.

Kim Nguyen

Kim Nguyen

Associate Professor

kim.h.nguyen@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 49152
Location: ML 236A

Kim Hong Nguyen (she/her, they/them) is a scholar of Vietnamese descent appointed as Associate Professor of Communication Arts, at the University of Waterloo.

Tim Paci.

Tim Paci

Associate Chair, Undergraduate Communication Outcomes Initiative- Lecturer

tppaci@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 48494
Location: ML 254B

Tim Paci has taught in Communication Arts at the University of Waterloo since his days as a graduate student in the 1990s.

Janelle Rainville

Janelle Rainville

Director of Production & Theatre Operations

jrainvil@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 44767
Location: ML 122

Janelle Rainville holds both a B.A. in Drama Studies and History and a B.Ed (Intermediate/Senior) from York University, Glendon Campus.  

Knee to head shot of Jennifer Roberts-Smith in a leather jacket

Jennifer Roberts-Smith

Associate Professor

jennifer.roberts-smith@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 45785
Location: ML 119C 

Dr. Jennifer Roberts-Smith (PhD, Toronto) is an award-winning artist-researcher, whose transdisciplinary, design-based work explores performance, digital media, history, education, and social justice.

Glenn Stillar

Glenn Stillar

Associate Professor

gstillar@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 47836
Location: ECH 2102

Professor Glenn Stillar is an Associate Professor in the Digital Arts Communication program in the Faculty of Arts, University of Waterloo.

Henry Adam Svec

Assistant Professor
henry.adam.svec@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 46432
Location: ML 205  
Imre Szeman

Imre Szeman

Professor

iszeman@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 47621 
Location: ML 241

Imre Szeman holds a PhD in Literature (Duke University), an MA in Theory and Criticism (University of Western Ontario) and a BA in Philosophy (Queen’s University).

gerald voorhees

Gerald Voorhees

Associate Chair, Undergraduate Advisor For Speech Communication - Associate Professor

gerald.voorhees@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 48691
Location: ML ML 257A 

Gerald Voorhees earned a Ph.D. from The University of Iowa (2008) and holds a B.S. in Speech Communication from the University of Texas at Austin, where he was a Senior Fellow in the Honors Program of the College of Communication.

Vershawn Young

Professor

vershawn.young@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 41596
Location: ML 232A

Dr. Vay is a scholar and teacher of African American communication, law, literacy, literature and performance.

David Goodwin

Retired faculty

David Goodwin holds a Ph.D. in English from University of Toronto (1986).  His academic achievements include his tenure as a Izaak Walton Killam Postdoctoral Fellow, Fellow of Trinity College (U of T), and President of the Canadian Society for the Study of Rhetoric.

Diana Denton

Retired faculty

Dr. Diana Denton has a B.A. in English (Simon Fraser University, 1976), an MA in Adult Education specializing in Human Resources Development (University of Toronto, 1989), and a PhD in Curriculum, Teaching and Learning specializing in Holistic and Aesthetic Education (University of Toronto, 1996).

Christopher Greenhalgh

Director of Technical Theatre

Director of Technical Theatre

thperf.td@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 47085
Location: ML 121

Christopher Greenhalgh holds a B.F.A Honors in Technical Theatre Production from Ryerson University.

Grit Liebscher

Acting Chair, Professor
photo of David Janzen with baby

David Janzen

Lecturer

David Janzen

Lecturer

ML 308

ext 43383

david.janzen@uwaterloo.ca

Aynur Kadir

Assistant Professor

akadir@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 47301
Location: ML 304

Dr. Aynur Kadir earned her Ph.D. in 2018 from Making Culture Lab, School of Interactive Arts and Technology at Simon Fraser University.

Rina Salazar

Administrative Manager

admin.cxarts@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x 42060
Location: ML 235

Performs all department administrative duties related to human resources, financial matters, as well as other department processes.

Jill Tomasson Goodwin

Retired faculty

Jill Tomasson Goodwin holds an MA and Ph.D. (1987) in English from the University of Toronto, and a BA (Hons) in English from the University of British Columbia.  Her areas of research include communication design, experiential education, Arts-based entrepreneurship, and competency assessment. 

Profiles by type