Online Teaching Awards

The University of Waterloo’s Online Teaching Awards recognize teaching and course design excellence in fully online undergraduate, or graduate-level courses and programs. Nominations for this year’s awards, which include the Fall 2023, Winter 2024 and Spring 2024 academic terms, must be received by August 31, 2024.

Award for Excellence in Online Course Design

This award recognizes exemplary undergraduate or graduate-level courses that meet or exceed the Quality Guidelines for University of Waterloo Online Courses. The authors of these courses may have worked collaboratively with the Centre for Extended Learning (CEL) in the design and development. Course authors should be identified in the Course Syllabus. See online course design award winners.

Who can nominate a course for this award?

  • students
  • teaching assistants
  • faculty and instructors
  • chairs, directors and deans

Award for Excellence in Online Teaching

This award recognizes course instructors who exemplify a high standard of teaching in one or more of Waterloo's fully-online undergraduate- or graduate-level course(s). Course instructors may be teaching an online course that they authored or one that was authored by another faculty member. They may be teaching the course in any term. Course instructors are identified in the Course Syllabus. See online teaching award winners.

Who can nominate a course instructor for this award?

  • students
  • teaching assistants

The evaluation process

  • Nomination forms are collected and reviewed by CEL
  • Nominees are shortlisted, and Directors, Deans, and Chairs are informed
  • Nominees are advised of their nomination and work with CEL to assemble a nomination package
  • Nomination packages are reviewed by the evaluation committee using the Online Awards Evaluation Rubric
  • The evaluation committee recommends award winners
  • Award winners are announced

Each recipient will receive a Certificate of Recognition and a prize of $1,000, which is sponsored by the Office of the Associate Vice-President, Academic.

If you have any questions about the awards please email