Jason Au.

Kinesiology and Health Sciences assistant professor Dr. Jason Au is the 2023 recipient of the Emerging Graduate Mentorship Award. 

“Not only am I honoured to receive this Graduate Mentorship Award, I am thankful to have such wonderful mentees who push me to grow as a mentor and scientist by bringing their best to their research every day,” said Au. “The challenges of graduate training have evolved over the last decade, and I look forward to working with mentees and faculty colleagues to tackle these stress points with new and innovative solutions throughout my career.” 

Since 2020, the Faculty has highlighted faculty members who have made a meaningful impact in the mentorship of graduate students through the Graduate Mentorship Awards. 

The award criteria include fostering students’ skills in problem-solving, critical thinking, self-directed learning and communication, commitment to students’ personal and professional development, effective research planning, and providing a supportive environment that stimulates creativity, debate, engagement and progression toward career goals. 

Dr. Karla Boluk (Recreation and Leisure Studies) is the recipient of the 2023 Mid-career Graduate Mentorship Award and Dr. Heather Mair (Recreation and Leisure Studies) is the 2023 recipient of the Senior Graduate Mentorship Award. 

A plaque will be established in the Burt Matthews Hall (BMH) foyer with engraved nameplates for this year’s award recipients, including the inaugural 2020 recipients: Michaela Devries-Aboud (Kinesiology and Health Sciences) and Katie Misener (Recreation and Leisure Studies), as well as the 2021 recipients: Kim Lopez (Recreation and Leisure Studies), Mark Ferro (School of Public Health Sciences) and John Hirdes (School of Public Health Sciences).