University of Waterloo Distinguished Teacher Award

The University of Waterloo's Distinguished Teacher Awards were approved by Senate on December 15, 1975. Since then, three or four awards have been granted annually. The overriding criterion is a record of excellent teaching at the University over an extended period, usually at least five years.

The Distinguished Teacher Award has been set up by the Senate of the University of Waterloo in recognition of the great importance of excellence in teaching at all levels at the University. The award is open to all those who teach students at the University of Waterloo and is not limited to those holding faculty appointments.

Recipients are to be chosen from among nominees by a Selection Committee of faculty and students.

Past recipients

The School of Accounting and Finance is honoured to have had a number of its faculty members recognized as Distinguished Teachers and applauds them for their outstanding efforts, as outlined in the original citations.

CAAA Haim Falk Award

This Award was established in 1987, then renamed in 1989 to honour Professor Haim Falk, the founding Editor of the CAAA Journal, Contemporary Accounting Research

The purpose of the Haim Falk Award is intended to stimulate scholarly thinking and research in Canada by giving widespread recognition to excellence in scholarly achievement that clearly contributes to the advancement of accounting though. 

CAAA L.S. Rosen Outstanding Educator Award

This Award was established in 1983 to honour Professor L.S. (Al) Rosen, the founding President of the Canadian Academic Accounting Association.

The L.S. Rosen Award recognizes an educator's contributions to Canadian accounting education through excellence in teaching, educational innovation, publications, guidance for students, and involvement in professional and academic societies and activities.

The School of Accounting and Finance are pleased to recognize these outstanding recipients who embody the values and mission of the Association: innovators who are committed to promoting and encouraging excellence in education and research in our field.

Past recipients include:

AAA Outstanding Educator Award

The Outstanding Educator Award is given in recognition of an educator for their outstanding education contribution in the field of strategic and emerging technologies. The winner of this award is honored with a plaque usually presented at the Annual SET Section Business Meeting.

Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal 

Created in 2012 to mark the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal was a tangible way for Canada to honour Her Majesty for her service to this country. At the same time, this commemorative medal served to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians.  

During the year of celebrations, three SAF faculty members were honoured with the prestigious Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.