University COVID-19 update

COVID-19 continues to change rapidly across the world and we want to take steps to limit the spread and risks of the disease in our community. With this goal in mind, the University is closed for events until further notice. Visit the University's Coronavirus Information website for more information.

The Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology main office (QNC 3606) is closed until further notice. If you are a student trying to pick up or return a lab/office key, please email for assistance. All other inquires can be directed to For emergencies, contact Campus Police.

The University of Waterloo and Tsinghua University Open New Research Centre

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Today University of Waterloo President, Dr. Feridun Hamdullahpur  and Tsinghua University Council Chairperson, Dr. Chen Xu, officially opened the Tsinghua University – University of Waterloo Joint Research Center for Micro-Nano Energy and Environment Technology (JCMEET).

A champion of this joint centre is WIN member, Dr. Zhongchao Tan, Professor of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering, who is Deputy (Executive) Director for this new research centre. To commemorate the launch of the research centre Dr. Tan organized a symposium highlighting collaboration strategies in mirco and nanotechnologies for clean energy and environment. Attendees included WIN Executive Director and WIN members – Dr. Zhongwei Chen and Dr. Xianguo Li.

The media release about this centre can be found here. 

“WIN members are continuously making discoveries, which are fundamentally changing our world and helping solve some of humanity’s most pressing issues,” said WIN Executive Director Dr. Sushanta Mitra.

“This international partnership between with Tsinghua University and the University of Waterloo will help lay the foundations for these ground breaking discoveries. The possible technological advances in clean energy and environmental remediation will benefit not only China and Canada, but also the world. WIN looks forward to building upon our past collaborations with our friends at Tsinghua University,” said Mitra. 

President Feridun Hamdullaphur and Dean of Engineering Pearl Sullivan with their Chinese counterparts

University of Waterloo President, Dr. Feridun Hamdullaphur and Dean of Engineering, Dr. Pearl Sullivan with their Chinese counterparts at the official launch ceremony for the new research centre. 

  1. 2020 (8)
    1. March (1)
    2. February (3)
    3. January (4)
  2. 2019 (28)
    1. December (2)
    2. November (6)
    3. October (4)
    4. September (4)
    5. July (1)
    6. May (4)
    7. March (3)
    8. February (3)
    9. January (1)
  3. 2018 (14)
    1. December (5)
    2. November (1)
    3. October (2)
    4. September (2)
    5. June (1)
    6. March (2)
    7. February (1)
  4. 2017 (1)
  5. 2016 (4)
  6. 2015 (5)
  7. 2014 (7)
  8. 2013 (4)
  9. 2012 (8)
  10. 2011 (11)
  11. 2010 (12)
  12. 2009 (2)