New Fellowships for Upper-Year Residents

Friday, January 31, 2020

The Board of Governors has created two new fellowships for students who wish to return to residence for a second year. The fellowships are named in honour of two retiring members of the Board who have provided outstanding service to the College over an extended period of time.

Rod Barr
The Rod Barr Fellowship is for a returning student in any academic field who has contributed to the life of the College. Rod Barr was a resident of the College in the 1960s. He went on to become a nationally recognized leader in the field of accounting. In 2009, Mr. Barr was appointed as president and chief executive officer (CEO) of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario and helped lead the unification of various accounting professional bodies under one designation the Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario (CPA). Mr. Barr served on the Board of St. Paul’s for over a decade, including a term as chair.

Bob Rosehart
The Bob Rosehart Fellowship is for a returning student in Engineering who has contributed to the life of the College. Bob Rosehart was a resident at St. Paul’s in the very first year it opened. He holds a doctorate in Engineering and has had a very distinguished career in university administration, including appointments as president of Lakehead University and president of Wilfrid Laurier University. Bob Rosehart also spent over a decade on the Board of St. Paul’s, including a term as chair.

“Each of these gentlemen understands that residence-life adds immensely to a student’s experience,” says St. Paul’s Principal Richard Myers. “The Board deeply appreciates all they’ve done for their College and we could think of no better way to express that appreciation than through fellowships that will encourage residence leaders to return for a second year.”

Each of these fellowships is valued at $1,000. Applications should include a letter that describes the applicant’s experience at the College and the reason he or she wishes to return for another year. Applications should be sent to by March 17th.