Award winners

All award winnersThe 2016-17 English awards ceremony was held on Friday, March 31, 2017. Here are this year's award winners. Congratulations to all! Visit this link to see photos of the event. 

See also our list of our past award winners.

Undergraduate Award Winners


Grade Average Award Winners

Second Year Spring:  Kate Stericker

Second Year Fall:  Joanna Cleary

Third Year:  Kayley Marner

Fourth Year:  Isabelle Cote


​Academic Awards

Walter R. Martin English 251 Award:  Masha Janjuz

Award in American Literature and Culture:  Alex Rollinson

Canadian Literature Prize:  Kathleen Moritz

History and Theory of Rhetoric Award:  Sarasvathi Kannan (runner-up); Theresa Shim (winner)

Rhetoric and Digital Design Award:  Trevor Nielsen (runner-up); Theresa Shim (winner)

Rhetoric and Professional Writing Award: Dominique Kelly, Elizabeth Scott, Erin Taylor, Christine Williams (group prize)

Andrew James Dugan Prize in Literature:  Alexandra Siebert

Andrew James Dugan Prize in Rhetoric and Professional Writing:  Joseph Stapleton


Co-op Awards

Quarry Integrated Communication Co-op English Award: Danielle Bisnar Griffin

Undergraduate Co-op Work Report Award: Carla Rodrigo

Creative Writing Awards

Albert Shaw Poetry Prize:  Zainab Ahmed-Yassin Mahdi

English Society Creative Writing Award for Poetry:  Joanna Cleary

English Society Creative Writing Award for Prose:  Chris Masterman

Graduate Creative Writing Award for Prose:  Lacey Beer

Graduate Creative Writing Award for Poetry:  Masa Torbica


Graduate Award Winners

Grade Average Awards

MA:  Julie Funk

PhD: Ian Gibson

David Nimmo English Graduate Scholarship:  Justin Carpenter

Jack Gray Fellowship:  Rebecca Anderson, Devon Moriarty

Graduate Co-op Work Report Award:  Andreea Perescu


Academic Awards

Beltz Essay Prize, MA:  Laura Bayer

Beltz Essay Prize, PhD:  Ian Gibson

Rhetoric Essay Prize:  Devon Moriarty

Graduate Professional Communication Award:  Devon Moriarty

W.K. Thomas Graduate Scholarship:  Jessica Van de Kemp


Teaching & Professionalization Awards

TA Award for Excellence in Teaching:  Kaitlin O'Brien (runner-up); Nicholas Hobin (winner)

Lea Vogel-Nimmo Graduate Professionalization Scholarship:  Ashley Irwin