THIS SITE

Areas of expertise

Faculty members in Waterloo English have research expertise in a wide variety of fields that span literature, rhetoric, professional communication, and digital media.

Faculty member Research areas of expertise
Katherine Acheson
Extension: 30336
Office: PAS 2454
Email: koa@uwaterloo.ca
  • Early Modern literature and culture
  • Visual culture
  • Visual rhetoric
Carol Acton
Extension: 28238
Office: SJU 2201
Email: cgacton@uwaterloo.ca
  • War in literature and life-writing
  • Autobiography
  • Modern British writers, especially non-canonical women writers

Lamees Al Ethari
​Extension: 33029
Office: HH 142
Email: lalethari@uwaterloo.ca

  • Life Writing/Women’s Life Writing
  • Arab and Arab North American literature, history, and culture
  • Diaspora and Postcolonial Theory
  • War and Trauma Theory and Literature
  • Transnational and Immigrant Literature
  • Ethnic American Literature
Veronica Austen
Extension: 28300
Office:SJU 2202
Email: vjausten@uwaterloo.ca
  • Canadian literature
  • Caribbean literature
  • Diaspora studies
  • Contemporary poetry and poetics
  • Visual arts in literature
Jennifer Clary-Lemon
Extension: 33594
Office: HH 368
Email: jclarylemon@uwaterloo.ca
  • Writing Theory and Pedagogy
  • Material Rhetorics/Rhetorical New Materialism
  • Environmental Rhetorics
  • Methods and Methodology
  • Rhetorics of Location and Place
Beth Coleman
Extension: 31013
Office: HH 145
Email: bcoleman@uwaterloo.ca
  • Co-director Critical Media Lab (CML) new research module, City as Platform/X-Reality Lab (XRL)
  • Rhetoric
  • Big data
  • Critical race theory
  • Critical Theory
  • Digital humanities

  • Games studies
  • Locative media/mobile media
  • Media theory/history of media and technology


  • Narrative theory
  • Participatory culture/politics of engagement
  • Transmedia art and design
Karen Collins
Extension: 38326
Office: ECH 2112
Email: collinsk@uwaterloo.ca
  • Games
  • Sound
  • Digital media
  • User experience/usability
  • Science fiction
Frankie Condon
Extension: 37141
Office: HH 147
Email: fcondon@uwaterloo.ca
  • Cross-cultural and antiracist rhetorics
  • Critical race theory and rhetoric
  • Public rhetorics and social change
  • Writing theory, practice, and pedagogy
Tristanne Connolly
Extension: 28244
Office: SJU 2203
Email: tjconnol@uwaterloo.ca
  • British Romantic literature and culture (especially poetry)
  • William Blake
  • Erasmus Darwin
  • Gender and sexuality
  • Medical writing and illustration
  • Literature and science
  • Religion and literature

Bruce Dadey
Extension: 32416
Office: HH 257
Email: badadey@uwaterloo.ca

  • Rhetorical theory and history
  • Professional Communication
  • Composition theory
  • American literature
  • Non-fiction prose studies (particularly American writers)
  • Graphic narratives
Stacy Denton
Extension: 59532
Office: HH 153
Email: sdenton@uwaterloo.ca
  • Representations of Rurality and Class
  • Postwar US Literature and Film
  • Studies in Media and Popular Culture
  • Interdisciplinary Methodologies
  • Feminist Pedagogy
Danielle Deveau
Extension: 32122
Office: HH 254
Email: d2deveau@uwaterloo.ca
  • User Experience Design
  • Content Strategy
  • Urban Economic Development
  • Cultural Scenes and Creative Cities
  • Cultural Mapping

Chrysanne DiMarco
Extension: 34443
Office: DC 1308
Email: cdimarco@uwaterloo.ca

  • Computational rhetoric
  • Computational linguistics
  • Human language technologies
  • Health informaticas
  • Persuasive language technologies
Jay Dolmage
Extension: 31035
Office: HH 224
Email: dolmage@uwaterloo.ca
  • Rhetorical theory and history
  • Composition theory and pedagogy
  • Disability studies
Fraser Easton
Extension: 33359
Office: HH 267
Email: easton@uwaterloo.ca
  • Eighteenth- and early nineteenth-century literature
  • Defoe, Smart, Edgeworth, and Austen
  • Gender, sexuality, and class
  • Political economy
  • Popular culture
Lai-Tze Fan
Extension: 35367
Office: HH 367
Email: lai-tze.fan@uwaterloo.ca
  • Digital media, history, and representation
  • Storytelling across media forms
  • Technological cultures and infrastructures (especially materiality, sustainability, and gendered labour)
  • Critical and creative digital humanities (including electronic literature)
  • Post-1945 and contemporary American and British literature
Clive Forrester
Extension: 37905
Office: HH 141
Email: clive.forrester@uwaterloo.ca
  • Discourse analysis
  • Language and gender
  • Language in advertising 
  • Language and the law/forensic linguistics

  • Creole Linguistics & Caribbean language

Kenneth Graham
Extension: 32124
Office: HH 246
Email: k2graham@uwaterloo.ca
  • Renaissance and Reformation Literature, including Shakespeare and Milton
  • Poetry
  • Literature and rhetoric
Dorothy Hadfield
Extension: 33203
Office: HH 270
Email: dhadfield@uwaterloo.ca
  • Canadian Drama and Theatre
  • Fin-de-Siecle Literature and Drama (British and Canadian)
  • Historiography and Politics of Literary and Theatrical Production
  • Composition Pedagogy
  • Online Pedagogy and Learning
Jennifer Harris
Extension: 37846
Office: HH 147A
Email: jennifer.harris@uwaterloo.ca
  • Nineteenth-century American Literature
  • African American Literature
  • Cultural studies

Randy Harris
Extension: 35362
Office: HH 247
Email: raha@uwaterloo.ca

  • Rhetoric (especially computational and cognitive rhetoric, rhetoric of science, history and theory of rhetoric)
  • Professional communication (especially document design, usability, and multimedia)
  • Interaction design (especially speech)
  • Linguistics (especially cognitive linguistics and history of linguistics)
  • Cognitive Poetics (especially the affective dimensions of linguistic and textual form in literature)
  • Construction Grammar (especially the intersection of everyday expressions and rhetorical schemes)
Ken Hirschkop
Extension: 32095
Office: HH 245
Email: khirschk@uwaterloo.ca
  • Cultural and literary theory (especially Bakhtin, the Frankfurt School, Marxist theory, Raymond Williams)
  • Politics and language
  • Modern philosophy of language
  • Critical media studies
  • Urban culture
Shelley Hulan
Extension: 36867
Office: HH 253
Email: shulan@uwaterloo.ca
  • Nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Canadian writing.
Andrea Jonahs
Extension: 36887
Office: HH 144
Email: ajonahs@uwaterloo.ca
  • Critical discourse analysis
  • Critical race theory
  • Race and new media
Norm Klassen
Extension: 28223
Office: SJU 2205
Email: n3klasse@uwaterloo.ca
  • Chaucer
  • Medieval English literature
  • Medieval humanism
Alysia Kolentsis
Extension: 28280
Office: SJU 2206
Email: amkolentsis@uwaterloo.ca
  • Shakespeare
  • Early modern drama and poetry
  • History of English
Alice Kuzniar
Extension: 33386
Office: ML 206
Email: akuzniar@uwaterloo.ca
  • Cinema studies
  • Queer studies
  • Animal studies
  • History of medicine
  • Psychoanalytic approaches to literature and film
Victoria Lamont
Extension: 36873 or 33318
Office: HH 226
Email: vlamont@uwaterloo.ca
  • American literature
  • Popular culture
  • American women’s writing
Kate Lawson
Extension: 33965
Office: HH 264
Email: klawson@uwaterloo.ca
  • Victorian literature and culture, especially fiction from the 1840s and 1850s.
Heather Love
Extension: 32555
Office: HH 347
Email: heather.love@uwaterloo.ca
  • Twentieth-century literature
  • American and transatlantic modernism
  • Interdisciplinary approaches to literary study
  • Literature, science, and technology
  • Literature and medicine/medical humanities
Michael MacDonald
Extension: 32448
Office: HH 256
Email: m2macdon@uwaterloo.ca
  • History and Theory of Rhetoric
  • Media Studies
Kevin McGuirk
Extension: 32419
Office: HH 263
Email: kmcguirk@uwaterloo.ca
  • American literature and culture after WWII (especially poetry)
  • Post-romantic poetics
  • Twentieth-century literatures and film
Andrew McMurry
Extension: 32121
Office: HH 265
Email: amcmurry@uwaterloo.ca
  • Ecocriticism
  • Environmental rhetoric and/or literature
  • Genres of professional writing
  • New media theory and design
  • Nineteenth-century American literature
  • Semiotics and discourse analysis
  • Science fiction

  • Comics and graphic novels

Ashley Rose Mehlenbacher
Extension: 39135
Office: HH 146
Email: ashley.mehlenbacher@uwaterloo.ca
  • Rhetoric (history and theory of rhetoric, rhetoric of science and technology, digital rhetoric, rhetorical genre studies)
  • Communication studies (science communication, environmental communication, organizational communication, media theory)
  • Professional and technical communication, especially scientific proposal writing and notions of expertise in socio-technical spheres of discourse, and also emerging online genres
  • Qualitative methods
Brad Mehlenbacher
Extension: 30287
Office: HH 242
Email: brad.mehlenbacher@uwaterloo.ca
  • Rhetoric
  • Cognition and learning theory
  • Instructional technology and communication design
  • Technical, engineering, and science communication
  • User experience, human-computer interaction, usability
  • Game studies and learning design
Aimee Morrison
Extension: 37533

Office: HH 269
Email: ahm@uwaterloo.ca

  • Information technology in literature
  • Electronic textualities
  • Digital media
  • History and theory of media
  • Popular cybercultures
Carter Neal
Extension: 30316

Office: HH 152
Email: carter.neal@uwaterloo.ca

  • American Literature
  • Emerson Studies
  • Fuller Studies
  • Transcendentalism

Vinh Nguyen
Extension: 28727
Office: REN 1408
Email: vinh.nguyen@uwaterloo.ca

  • Asian Diaspora Literatures
  • War, Refugee, and Migration studies
  • Affect theory
  • Cultural Studies
John North
Extension: 33743
Office: HH 223
Email: jsnorth@uwaterloo.ca
  • Victorian literature
  • Bibliography
  • Children's literature
  • Literature and the Bible
  • C.S. Lewis and his circle
Marcel O'Gorman
Extension: 32946
Office: HH 225
Email: marcel@uwaterloo.ca
  • Critical theory
  • Media theory
  • Digital humanities
  • Digital art and design
  • Posthumanities
  • Cyberculture
  • Techno-Romanticism
  • New critical methodologies
Neil Randall

Extension: 30134
Office: EC1 1327
Email: nrandall@uwaterloo.ca

  • Game studies
  • Virtual worlds
  • Rhetoric and semiotics of Human-Computer Interaction
  • Semiotics of games and game design
  • J. R. R. Tolkien
  • Practice and analysis of various genres of professional writing: technical documentation, magazine journalism, multimedia production

John Savarese​
Extension 33019
Office: HH 143
email: john.savarese@uwaterloo.ca

  • Romantic literature
  • Poetry and poetics
  • History and philosophy of science
Megan Selinger
Extension 38219
Office: HH 155
email: megan.selinger@uwaterloo.ca
  • Renaissance & Reformation drama and literature – especially Shakespeare
  • Performance Studies
  • Narrative theory
  • Canadian drama
  • Professional writing and communication – especially document design, usability, and multimedia production
  • Victorian literature
  • Gothic studies
Winfried Siemerling
Extension: 32118
Office: HH 222
Email: wsiemerl@uwaterloo.ca
  • Canadian literature and culture, North American literatures and cultures
  • Black North American writing (including francophone Quebec)
  • Race and ethnicity
  • Postcolonial writing
  • Diaspora writing
  • Hemispheric studies
  • Literary and critical theory (including Frankfurt School)
  • Jazz and literature
Heather Smyth
Extension: 36027
Office: HH 268
Email: hsmyth@uwaterloo.ca
  • Postcolonial literatures and theory
  • Caribbean literature
  • Feminist theory
  • Canadian literature
  • Postcolonial queer studies

Imre Szeman
Extension: 37621
Office: ML 241
Email: iszeman@uwaterloo.ca

  • Environmental communication
  • Energy justice
  • Literary and critical theory
  • Cultural studies
Sarah Tolmie
Extension: 36795
Office: HH 266
Email: stolmie@uwaterloo.ca 
  • Middle English literature and historiography
  • Middle Scots literature and historiography
  • Premodern theory of mind and embodiment
  • Creative writing
  • Cognitive poetics
Linda Warley
Extension: 35379
Office:  PAS 2433
Email: lwarley@uwaterloo.ca
  • Canadian literary studies in all genres (especially post-WWII to the present);
  • Auto/biography studies generally;
  • First Nations and Métis literatures.
David-Antoine Williams
Extension: 28287
Office: STJ 2208
Email: david.williams@uwaterloo.ca
  • Poetry and/or poetics
Chad Wriglesworth
Extension: 28283
Office: SJU 2209
Email: cwriglesworth@uwaterloo.ca
  • Twentieth century American literature
  • Ecocriticism and place studies
  • Religion and American culture
  • Native American literature
  • Literature and the American West

Vershawn Young
Extension: 31596
Office: ML 239
Email: vershawn.young@uwaterloo.ca

  • African American Performance (drama and theatre, performance of everyday life, performance of gender [masculinity])
  • African Americans Studies (esp. African Americans and U.S. Law after Jim Crow)
  • Composition and Rhetoric (Translingual Writing, Code Meshing, Code Switching, Relationship between speech/oral communication and writing/composition)
  • African American literature (Dramatic Literature of the Harlem Renaissance, Late 20th/21st Century Authors, James Baldwin)