Message from the Dean

Welcome to Science at Waterloo.

First, I’d like to acknowledge that the Faculty of Science at the University of Waterloo, is located on the traditional territory of ‎the Neutral, Anishnawbe, and Haudenosaunee peoples. The Faculty is committed to reconciliation amongst Indigenous peoples and all Canadians, especially as we look to our future together.

Science is constantly evolving, driven by our fundamental curiosity in the world around us. It’s not just a source of new ideas, but a driver of disruptive innovation. And we at the Faculty of Science – the faculty, staff, and students – embrace this philosophy.

As a researcher myself, I have witnessed how fundamental discoveries in liquid crystal research have revolutionized the development of flat screen televisions and electronics. It’s a fantastic feeling to be part of this enterprise and I am thrilled to support our talented students to be a part of it. Through unique programs and opportunities such as Co-op, Velocity Science, iGEM, and Waterloop we’re helping students take science out of the classroom and into the boardroom and beyond.

This year, we are focused on breaking ground for the Science Centre for Innovation, which will catalyze discovery and redefine the future. The new interdisciplinary centre will be a global collaboration hub, bringing together world-class research groups, accelerator centres and entrepreneurs to work in areas such as ocular health, microbial biology, metagenomics and clean water.

We welcome you to explore the future of Science with us.

Bob Lemieux.
Bob Lemieux
Dean, Faculty of Science

Faculty of Science Deans

  • Bruce W. Kelley (1958-1960)
  • William A.E. (Peter) McBryde (1961-1969)
  • William B. Pearson (1969-1977)
  • Robert N. Farvolden (1977-1982)
  • Don E. Brodie (1982-1990)
  • John E. Thompson (1990-2001)
  • D. George Dixon (2001-2007)
  • Terrance B. McMahon (2007-2015)
  • Robert P. Lemieux (2015-present)

Dean Robert LemieuxDean of Science, Bob Lemieux

Office of the Dean

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 42353
Location: ESC 252