Distinguished Teacher Award

The Distinguished Teacher Award (DTA) is received by teachers from the University of Waterloo who are evaluated based on evidence of intellectual vigour and communication skills in the interpretation and presentation of the subject matter in more than just the classroom, along with the instructor’s human quality and concern for and sensitivity to the needs of the students. More information about the DTA, including how to nominate an instructor, can be found on the Centre for Teaching Excellence website.


Excellence in Science Teaching Award

The Excellence in Science Teaching Award (ESTA) is awarded annually to a maximum of two instructors who have demonstrated sustained, high quality teaching in their undergraduate or graduate courses. The ESTA award was established to recognize and reward excellence in teaching and outstanding instructors within the Faculty of Science.


Waterloo Undergraduate Student Association Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

Every year, University of Waterloo undergraduate students have the opportunity to recognize professors that have shown outstanding contribution towards undergraduate learning. Recipients have employed non-conventional teaching techniques, allowed opportunities for experiential learning and shown a long term commitment and dedication towards ensuring academic success for undergraduate students.


Amit & Meena Chakma Award for Exceptional Teaching by a Student

The Amit & Meena Chakma Awards for Exceptional Teaching by a Student were established through a generous gift by Dr. & Mrs. Chakma to recognize and promote teaching excellence of our next generation of educators. Prior to 2006, it was named the Distinguished Teaching by a Registered Student Award. More information about this award can be found on the Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs website


Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance Teaching Excellence Award

The Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance (OUSA) Teaching Excellence Award recognizes educators who excel at unlocking the potential of Ontario’s young people. OUSA annually presents its teaching awards to professors from each of our member campuses who have taken this role to heart, and who have been selected by their students as examples of teaching excellence.

  • Brenda Lee (Physics and Astronomy), 2019

Leadership in Faculty of Teaching Award

The LIFT Award was developed to recognize and encourage teaching excellence at Ontario's colleges and universities. This award has been given out to faculty who influence, motivate and inspire students and demonstrate leadership in teaching methods for the diverse student body in Ontario.

  • Rohan Jayasundera (Physics and Astronomy), 2007

Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations Awards

The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards recognize individuals with exceptional contributions to the higher education community.

  • Donald Irish (Chemistry), 1987