About the Faculty of Science

Science at a Glance

Since its origins in 1957 as a founding faculty of the University of Waterloo, the Faculty of Science has become a world leader in research, education and beyond the lab experiences at local, national and international levels. We are proud of every accomplishment from our faculty, staff, students and alumni.

Our research and education are divided into four departments - Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Environmental Sciences, and Physics and Astronomy - and two world-class professional schools - the School of Optometry and Vision Science and the School of Pharmacy.

Book icon6295Undergraduate students enrolled full time
Lab coat icon626Graduate students enrolled full time
Coins icon$50MAnnual Research Funding
Graduation cap icon33 164Alumni who have graduated from Science

* Statistics current as of 2020/2021 academic year.

Research Excellence

Donna Strickland receiving the Nobel Prize from the King of SwedenThe Faculty of Science has internationally renowned researchers including Nobel Laureate Donna Strickland, two Canada Excellence Research Chair Laureates, 14 Canada Research Chairs, and multiple recipients of the Order of Canada and Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada.

Waterloo Science research has been featured by local, national and global media, including CBC’s Quirks and Quarks and Scientific American.

Our researchers are always on the cutting edge of new and unique discoveries! Read more about their latest research findings in our research highlights.

Education Excellence

A professor talking to two students in a fieldThe Faculty of Science offers 17 undergraduate degree programs including interdisciplinary programs such as Science and Business and Science and Aviation.

Our world-class School of Optometry and Vision Science and School of Pharmacy offer professional Doctor of Optometry (OD) and Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) programs.

Graduate students have a selection of 13 different graduate degree programs at the masters (MSc) and doctoral (PhD) levels of study, including specialized programs in Nanotechnology, Quantum Information and Water, in partnership with our research institutes.

We provide quality hands on experience to our students in a variety of ways, including labs, field courses, cooperative education and work placement opportunities, international exchanges, and clinical rotations.

Beyond the Lab Experiences

A science student showing a fossil to young childrenThe Faculty of Science fosters a culture of scientific innovation and entrepreneurship by providing the tools and lab space they need to take their ideas and turn them into reality through programs and collaborations including the Science Innovation Hub, iGEM, Velocity Science and St. Paul's Greenhouse.

Award winning community outreach programs encourage an understanding of science in out community, and inspire the next generation of scientists. These programs include our Earth Science Museum, the annual Science Open House, Let’s Talk Science Waterloo K-12 program, tours of the Gustav Bakos Observatory, and Open Courseware covering high school science topics.