Awards and Honours

Donna Strickland accepting the Nobel Prize in Physics from the King of Sweden.

The Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics is a annual award given by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for those who conferred the most outstanding contributions for mankind in the field of physics. It is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895 and awarded since 1901.

Donna Strickland

Ontario Early Researcher Awards

This program aims to improve Ontario’s ability to attract and retain the best and brightest research talent from around the world by helping promising young faculty members build their research teams.

Premier's Discovery Award

This award honours outstanding research contributions and international recognition by accomplished researchers in Ontario.

Raymond Laflamme

Order of Canada Appointments

As Canada's highest civilian honour, the Order of Canada Appointments are awarded for recognition of outstanding achievement and dedication to our country. Companion (C.C.) recognizes national pre-eminence or international service or achievement. Officer (O.C.) recognizes national service or achievement and Member (C.M.) recognizes outstanding contributions at the local or regional level or in a special field of activity.

Order of Canada recipients

Killam Fellowship

In memory of Izaak Walton Killam, the Killam Fellowship was created to honour eminent Canadian scholars and scientists who have an outstanding reputation in their area of research.

Peter Bernath
Michel Gingras
Richard Oakley

Steacie Fellowship

Named after chemist Dr. Edgar William Richard Steacie, this fellowship honours young university faculty researchers who exhibit exceptional scientific excellence.

Michel Gingras
Terry McMahon
Kevin Resch
Janusz Pawliszyn

The Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society of Canada honours distinguished intellectuals who have made remarkable contributions to the arts, humanities and the sciences.

Highly Cited Researchers

Recipients of this award are some of the world's leading scientific intellectuals, all of whom have published a great number of scientific papers and are the most cited researchers in their respective fields. The previous name for this award was Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researchers.

*The inaugural list was released in 2001 and then annually starting in 2014. No awards were given between 2002 and 2013.

Highly Cited Researcher recipients

Researcher Category Year
John Cherry Environment and Ecology 2001
  Engineering 2001
Emil Frind Environment and Ecology 2001
  Engineering 2001
Robert Gillham Environment and Ecology 2001
  Engineering 2001
Bernard Glick Cross-Field 2022, 2021, 2020
Juewen Liu Cross-Field 2022
Linda Nazar Chemistry 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017
  Materials Science 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2014
  Environment and Ecology 2022
Janusz Pawliszyn Chemistry 2001
Will Percival Space Science 2022, 2021
Ed Sudicky Environment and Ecology 2001
  Engineering 2001
John Thompson Plant and Animal Science 2001

Faculty of Science Excellence in Science Research Award

This award was established by the Faculty of Science’s Associate Dean of Research in 2021 to recognize outstanding research accomplishments by Science faculty members. 

Excellence in Science Research Award winners


Philippe Van Cappellen

William W. L. Wong

Adam Wei Tsen


Andrea Edginton

Anna Klinkova

Rebecca Rooney


Ben Thompson

Avery Broderick

Barb Katzenback