THIS SITE

Faculty profiles

Kate Lawson

Kate Lawson

Associate Professor and Chair of English

PhD, Toronto
MA, Toronto
BA, Toronto

Extension: 33965
Office: HH 253
Email for English Department businessenglishchair@uwaterloo.ca
Email for other matters: klawson@uwaterloo.ca

Aimee Morrison head shot

Aimée Morrison

Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Graduate Studies

PhD, Alberta
MA, Guelph
BA, York

Office: HH 269
Email:
ahm@uwaterloo.ca

For enquiries related to graduate degrees:
englgrad@uwaterloo.ca

Jay Dolmage

Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Undergraduate Studies

PhD, Miami University of Ohio
MA, Windsor
BA, British Columbia

Extension: 31035
Office: HH 324
Email:
dolmage@uwaterloo.ca

For enquiries related to undergraduate degrees: englug@uwaterloo.ca

Katherine Acheson

Professor and Associate Dean of Arts, Undergraduate Programs

PhD, Toronto
MA, Toronto
BA, Carleton

Extension: 30336
Office: PAS 2454
Email:
koa@uwaterloo.ca

Photo of Carol Acton.

Carol Acton

Associate Professor

PhD, Queen's
MA, Kent at Canterbury
BA Honours, Trinity College, Dublin

Extension: 28238
Office: SJU 3004
Email:
cgacton@uwaterloo.ca

Lamees Al Ethari

Lecturer

PhD, University of Waterloo
Master of Arts, Kansas State University
Master of Arts, University of Baghdad
Bachelor of Arts, Al-Moman University College

Extension: x33029
Office: HH 142
Email: lalethari@uwaterloo.ca

Veronica Austen

Veronica Austen

Assistant Professor

PhD, Waterloo
MA, Waterloo
BA, Guelph

Extension: 28300
Office:SJU 3009
Email:
 vjausten@uwaterloo.ca

Beth Coleman

Beth Coleman

Associate Professor

PhD, New York
BA, Yale

Extension: 31013
Office: HH 145
Email: bcoleman@uwaterloo.ca

Karen Collins

Karen Collins

Associate Professor- Cross Appointed

Post Doc, Carleton
PhD, Liverpool
BA, Waterloo

Extension: 38326
Office: ECH 2112
Email:
collinsk@uwaterloo.ca

Frankes (Frankie) Condon

Frankie Condon

Associate Professor

​PhD, University at Albany
MA, Clarion University
BFA, York University

Extension: 37141
Office: HH 147
Email: 
fcondon@uwaterloo.ca
Website:  https://uwaterloo.ca/scholar/fcondon

Photo of Tristanne Connolly.

Tristanne Connolly

Associate Professor

PhD, Cambridge
MA, McMaster
BA, McMaster

Extension: 28244
Office: SJU 3002
Email:
tjconnol@uwaterloo.ca

Website

Bruce Dadey

Lecturer

PhD, Waterloo Ontario
MA, Waterloo
BEd, Alberta
BA,
Manitoba
BPE, Manitoba

Extension: 32416
Office: HH 257

Email: badadey@uwaterloo.ca

Danielle Deveau

Danielle Deveau

Lecturer

PhD, Simon Fraser University
MA, Ryerson and York University
BA, University of
Alberta

Office: HH 146
Email:
d2deveau@uwaterloo.ca

Chrysanne Di Marco

Chrysanne Di Marco

Associate Professor- Cross Appointed

PhD, Computer Science; Toronto
MSc, Computer Science; Toronto
BSc, Mathematics and Biology; Toronto

Extension: 84443

Office: DC 1308
Email: cdimarco@uwaterloo.ca

Website

Fraser Easton

Associate Professor

*On sabbatical July 1/16 to June 30/17

PhD, Princeton
MA, Princeton
BA, British Columbia

Extension: 33359
Office: HH 267
Email:
easton@uwaterloo.ca

Photo of Clive Forrester.

Clive Forrester

Lecturer

PhD. Applied Linguistics - University of the West Indies, Mona
B.A. Linguistics - University of the West Indies, Mona

Extension: 37905
Office: HH141
Email:
clive.forrester@waterloo.ca 

Kenneth Graham

Associate Professor


PhD, Berkeley
MA, Toronto
BA, Alberta

Extension: 32124
Office: HH 246
Email:
k2graham@uwaterloo.ca

Dorothy Hadfield

Lecturer

PhD, Western Ontario
MA, Guelph
BA, Waterloo

Extension: 33203
Office: HH 270

Email: dhadfield@uwaterloo.ca

Randy Harris

Randy Harris

Professor

PhD, Rensselaer
MSc, Rensselaer
MSc, Alberta
MA, Dalhousie
BA, Queen's

Extension: 35362
Office: HH 247
Email: raha@uwaterloo.ca

Website

Jennifer Harris

Associate Professor

PhD, York
MA, York
MA (Women's Studies), York
BA, Western Ontario

Extension: 37846
Office: HH 147A
Email:
jennifer.harris@uwaterloo.ca

Ken Hirschkop at Walden Pond

Ken Hirschkop

Associate Professor

DPhil, Oxford
MA, London
BA, Swarthmore

Extension: 32095
Office: HH 245
Email:
khirschk@uwaterloo.ca

Shelly Hulan

Shelley Hulan

Associate Professor

PhD, Western Ontario
MA, Western Ontario
BA, Memorial

Extension: 36867
Office: HH 255
Email:
shulan@uwaterloo.ca

Norm Klassen

Associate Professor

DPhil, Oxford
MA, Waterloo
BA, Waterloo
BTh, Canadian Bible College

Extension: 28223
Office: SJU 3005
Email:
n3klasse@uwaterloo.ca

Photo credit: Thomas Brauer

Alysia Kolentsis

Assistant Professor

PhD, Toronto
MA, York
BA, Waterloo

Extension: 28280
Office: SJU 3006
Email: 
amkolentsis@uwaterloo.ca

Alice Kuzniar

Alice Kuzniar

Professor Cross-Appointed

PhD Princeton
MA Princeton
BA University of Toronto

Extension: 33386
Office: ML 206

Email: akuzniar@uwaterloo.ca

Victoria Lamont

Associate Professor

PhD, Alberta
MA, Guelph
BA, Alberta

Extension: 36873 or 33318
Office: HH 226
Email:
vlamont@uwaterloo.ca

Michael MacDonald

Associate Professor

PhD, California, Berkeley
MA, California, Berkeley
MA, British Columbia
BA, British Columbia

Extension: 32448
Office: HH 256
Email:
m2macdon@uwaterloo.ca

Murray McArthur

Associate Professor

PhD, Western Ontario
MA, Western Ontario
BA, Manitoba

Extension: 32759
Office: HH 264
Email:
mmcarthu@uwaterloo.ca

Kevin McGuirk

Associate Professor

PhD, Western Ontario
MA, Windsor
BA, Cornell

Extension: 32419
Office: HH 263
Email:
kmcguirk@uwaterloo.ca

Andrew McMurry

Associate Professor

PhD, Indiana
MA, Waterloo
BSc, Biology; Wilfrid Laurier

Extension: 32121
Office: HH 265
Email:
amcmurry@uwaterloo.ca

Ashley Rose Mehlenbacher

Assistant Professor

PhD, North Carolina State
MA (Co-op), Waterloo
BA (Hons), Waterloo

Extension: 39135
Office: HH 146
Email:
arkelly@uwaterloo.ca

Photo of Vinh Nguyen

Vinh Nguyen

Assistant Professor

PhD, McMaster

MA, McMaster

BA, Calgary

Extension:
Office: REN 1408
Email:
vinh.nguyen@uwaterloo.ca

Photo of John North.

John North

Professor

PhD, Alberta
MA, British Columbia

BA, British Columbia

Office: HH 223
Extension: 33743

Email: jsnorth@uwaterloo.ca

Marcel O'Gorman

Professor, University Research Chair

PhD, Florida
MA, Windsor

MA, Ottawa
BA, Windsor


Extension: 32946
Office: HH 258
Email:
marcel@uwaterloo.ca

Website
Critical Media Lab

Neil Randall

Associate Professor

PhD, York
MA, Waterloo
BA, Guelph

Extension: 30134
Office: EC1 1327
Email:
nrandall@uwaterloo.ca

Website

John Savarese

Assistant Professor

PhD, Rutgers
MA, Rutgers
BA, New York

Extension 33019
Office: HH 143
email: 
john.savarese@uwaterloo.ca

Winfried Siemerling

Winfried Siemerling

Professor

PhD, Comparative Literature; Toronto
MA, Toronto
MA, Freiburg

Extension: 32118
Office: HH 222

Email: wsiemerl@uwaterloo.ca

Heather Smyth

Associate Professor

PhD, Alberta
MA, Guelph
BA, Queen's

Extension: 36027
Office: HH 268
Email:
hsmyth@uwaterloo.ca

Imre Szeman

Professor Joint Appointed

PhD, Duke
MA, Western Ontario
BA, Queen's

Extension: 37621
Office: ML 241
Email: iszeman@uwaterloo.ca

Photograph of Rebecca Tierney-Hynes

Rebecca Tierney-Hynes

Associate Professor

PhD, Toronto
MA, Toronto
BA, Toronto

Extension: 35667
Office: HH 225
Email:
rtierney@uwaterloo.ca

Sarah Tolmie

Associate Professor

PhD, University of Cambridge
MA, University of Toronto
BA, University of Toronto

Extension: 36795
Office: HH 266
Email:
stolmie@uwaterloo.ca
 

Linda Warley

Linda Warley

Associate Professor

PhD, Alberta
MA, Guelph
BA, Guelph

Extension: 35379
Office:  PAS 2427
Email:
lwarley@uwaterloo.ca

David Williams

David Williams

Associate Professor

DPhil, Oxford
MPhil, St Andrews
BA, Harvard

Extension: 28287
Office: STJ 3006

Email: david.williams@uwaterloo.ca

Website

Chad Wriglesworth

Associate Professor

PhD, Iowa
MA, Portland State
MA, Regent College, UBC
BA, Warner Pacific College

Extension: 28283
Office: SJU 3004
Email:
 cwriglesworth@uwaterloo.ca

Portrait of Vershawn Young.

Vershawn Young

Associate Professor Cross-Appointed

PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago

Extension: 31596
Office: ML 239
Email: vershawn.young@uwaterloo.ca