Filter by:

Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Date range
Limit to items where the date of the news item:
Limit to news where the title matches:
Limit to news items tagged with one or more of:
Limit to news items where the audience is one or more of:

WIN Member receives award from JDRF to develop a breakthrough in diabetes monitoring using microneedle technology

Article Written by Jordan Flemming, University Relations

Diabetes affects over five million Canadians and many more people around the world, necessitating constant monitoring of glucose and ketone levels — a process that has long been associated with pain and inconvenience. Imagine a future where monitoring diabetes and ketone levels is quick and comfortable.

Hydrogen, the simplest and most abundant element, could be the best renewable energy source to fuel vehicles of the future. 

Dr. XiaoYu Wu, a mechanical and mechatronics engineering professor at the University of Waterloo, and his team of graduate and post-doctoral students are investigating the use of ammonia as a safe and efficient storage cell for hydrogen transportation.