Donors | Friends | Supporters

New Fellows for the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) have recently been elected, and among them is Dr. Ehsan Toyserkani, a professor in the Department of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering and Canada Research Chair in Additive Manufacturing (AM). His election to the CAE extends beyond our borders. His pioneering contributions to the modeling simulation, in-situ monitoring, and quality assurance of metal AM have earned him national and global acclaim. 

An inCiTe™ 3D X-ray microscope at the University of Waterloo will support one in eight Canadians who experience bone and joint dysfunction with the disease, and this research is being led by Department of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering professors Dr. Stewart McLachlin and Dr. Naveen Chandrashekar in the Orthopaedic Mechatronics Laboratory to improve surgical treatment of musculoskeletal conditions.    

Department of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering grads Nima Zamani (BASc '14, MASc' 16) and Dr. Tim Lasswell (BASc '14, MASc '17) introduced Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, the Honourable Marci Ien and the Honourable Dan Vandal to Codi™️, an AI-powered robotics system can perform ultrasounds. The team met the officials at Saskatoon's Virtual Health Hub, and the hub will receive $21 million to develop, adopt, and deliver health care services to remote communities, of which the startup that invented the robot, Cobionix, will have its share.  

The startup builds autonomous medical robots that can make health care more accessible, and is based out of Velocity in downtown Kitchener.  

The company aims to offer fully autonomous ultrasounds, where the robot will undertake all parts of the ultrasound procedure without the need for technician supervision across the prairies and eventually across North America.  

Get the full story in Velocity News.  

We're pleased to announce that one of our very own PhD candidates, Shadab Sarmast has been awarded the prestigious CWB Welding Foundation Graduate Scholarship for Women. This scholarship is awarded to women who have demonstrated interest and research in pursuing a career in materials joining and the applied technology services industry. She is supervised by Dr. Norman Zhou and Dr. Michael Benoit in the Centre for Advanced Materials Joining (CAMJ). We caught up with Shadab to learn more about her journey, research interests, and what this award means to her.

From cookie dough to accessibility innovations, there was certainly a lot to see at this year’s Mechanical Engineering Capstone Design Symposium. On March 20th, students showed off their fourth-year design projects, and there was no shortage of the “wow factor.”

We had the chance to chat with some of the students to learn more about their inspiration for their projects and how certain classes in their Mechanical Engineering degrees helped them devise innovative solutions to problems around the world.

Tuesday, April 4, 2023

Pitching to win

In a dazzling display of innovation at this year's Norman Esch Entrepreneurship Awards for Capstone Design, senior engineering teams from the Faculty of Engineering brought forth groundbreaking projects to compete for substantial funding to fuel their entrepreneurial dreams. Out of the ten formidable teams, two remarkable groups from the Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering (MME) stream notably clinched victory.

Congratulations to PhD student Ahmed Saieed for winning the 2021 Graduate Scholarship Award from the CFD Society of Canada. The award is a national-level recognition and was created in 2005 to encourage graduate students to pursue the topic of computational fluid dynamics in their thesis. Each year, up to two students are awarded $4,000 scholarships and applicants must be a full-time Master or PhD student and an active member of the CFDSC.

On March 30th and 31st, MME's 4th-year Capstone Design Symposium events were held virtually and showcased our latest and greatest in terms of talent and innovation. This year, there were over 100+ senior teams showcasing their projects and competing for a selection of awards from best product design, web design, prototype, inovation, presention quality etc. Below are the results and conclusions of this year's award winners. 

Congratulations to the winners and to everyone that participated in the event!