Aspire. Inspire. Transform.

Waterloo's School of Public Health Sciences is training a new generation of leaders, researchers and change agents to prepare for and respond to the complex adaptive systems that affect health and health care.

About Waterloo's School of Public Health Sciences →

Discover your fit

Our undergraduate programs, and professional and research-based graduate programs prepare learners for these opportunities. Join us as we seek innovative solutions to current and emerging challenges to health.

Dr. Heckman and grad student talking to residents of a long-term care village.

Research excellence

Our researchers work closely with partners including ministries of health and health promotion, the World Health Organization, Public Health Agency of Canada, private industry, and many others to identify and understand health complex challenges and to develop relevant solutions.

Explore our research →

Work for School of Public Health Sciences

Explore faculty, research and postdoctoral positions in the Faculty of Health, including the School of Public Health Sciences.

Explore employment opportunities →

Equity, diversity and inclusion

We celebrate diversity and challenge the social and structural factors that undermine health, including structural bias, social inequities, and racism.

Learn more about our commitment 


The School of Public Health Sciences is pleased to announce that three of its programs have received accreditation from the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH): the Bachelor of Public Health, Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences and Master of Public Health. 

Professor John Hirdes (School of Public Health Sciences) is one of five University of Waterloo researchers to be named to the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) for their exceptional contributions in Arts, Social Sciences and Sciences.

Dr. Sharon Kirkpatrick, a professor in the School of Public Health Sciences, was recently named University of Waterloo Research Chair, along with six other professors across campus. The seven-year appointment began July 1, 2023.