Faculty of Science Points of Contact

Peer Support

Science Undergrad Office and Academic advisors

The Science Undergraduate Office (SUO) houses the academic advisors for all first-year students as well as all students in Honours Science, General Science, Psychology/Science, Science and Aviation. The SUO is located in STC 2031.

Student Engagement Coordinator provides support to students’ clubs and is contact for bookings, key access, and generic email accounts for SciSoc leadership. Regular communication between Society and coordinator is important.

Academic Integrity Specialist works with Associate Dean(s) to investigate students’ misconduct and provides information to students on how to avoid misconduct and work with integrity.

Academic advisors provide students with course advice, help students plan their academic career and connect students w/resources to help them become as academically successful as they want to be.

A complete listing of academic advisors (all programs), including upper year (2nd year and above) students advisors, is found here: Academic advisors | Science | University of Waterloo (uwaterloo.ca) 

Specific Roles/Contacts for Co-op matters

Associate Directors/Chairs Undergraduate (UG)

The Associate Chairs and Directors (UG) are responsible for matters pertaining to undergraduate programs within their departments. This includes scheduling and delivery of programs offered, course instructors, curriculum development, scholarships and awards (including NSERC USRA), and other tasks related to the undergraduate student experience.

Any comments or concerns regarding undergraduate affairs should be directed to the corresponding Associate Director/Chair, UG. 

Biology Associate Chair, UG: Brendan McConkey

Chemistry Associate Chair, UG: Marcel Nooijen

Physics and Astronomy Associate Chair, UG: Adrian Lupascu

Earth & Environmental Sciences Associate Chair, UG: John Johnston

Pharmacy Associate Director, Curriculum: Cynthia Richards

Other relevant School of Pharmacy contacts

Optometry & Vision Science Associate Director, Academics & Students Affairs: Natalie Hutchings

Other relevant School of Optometry & Vision Science contacts

Chairs and Directors

Chairs & Directors are responsible for all matters/activities within their units.

Biology Chair: Kirsten Müller

Deapartment of Biology - Our People

Chemistry Chair: John Corrigan

Department of Chemistry - Our People

Physics & Astronomy Chair: Brian McNamara

Department of Physics and Astronomy - Our People

Earth & Environmental Sciences Chair: Mario Coniglio

Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences - Our People

Pharmacy Director & Associate Dean: Andrea Edginton

School of Pharmacy - Our People 

Optometry & Vision Science Director: Stanley Woo

School of Optometry & Vision Science - Our People

Aviation Programs Manager: Sarah Osborne

Science and Aviation - Our People

Science and Business Director: Okechukwu (Okey) Igboeli

Science and Business - Our People

Associate Dean, Co-operative Education & Computing

Stefan Idziak

  • Liases with Faculty, Departments and Co-operative Experiential Education.
  • Represents Faculty on University committees dealing with Co-op and experiential learning.
  • Oversees work term reports.
  • Represents Faculty on University committees dealing with computing and information technology.
  • Oversees Science Computing.

Associate Dean, International Programs

Jonathan Witt

  • Responsible for all aspects pertaining to partnerships and program agreements with eduicational institutions outside of Canada (including 2+2 and 2+1+1 partnerships, as well as study abroad and exchange agreements).
  • Students involved in any of our international programs or agreements will rarely be in contact with Associate Dean (AD), International Programs. First point of contact is science.advisor@uwaterloo.ca.

Associate Dean, Faculty and Student Engagement

Heidi Engelhardt

  • Responsible for Policy 71 (Student Discipline) matters.
  • Connects with students regarding difficulties they may want to discuss.
  • Contributes to Faculty recruitment activities and academic integrity training.
  • Contributes to efforts to develop a positive learning community for Science students.

Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning

Laura Deakin

  • Represents Faculty on University committees dealing w/Undergraduate (UG) matters.
  • Responsible for matters pertaining to academic programs, curriculum, UG student experience. 
  • Responsible for matters pertaining to UG recruitment and admission.
  • Responsible for Policy 70 (Grievances) matters. 

Associate Dean, Diverse, Inclusive and Safe Science

Jen Parks

  • Responsible for ensuring a positive, safe, and supportive workplace climate for faculty, staff, and students.
  • Liaise with AAS and Counselling services and support P70 grievances with a focus on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, including liaison with departmental EDI committees.
  • Additional responsibilities include student petitions and accessibility, safety and security of science space, Policy 42 and 33 cases, and non-academic misconduct P71.

Dean of Science: Chris Houser

Message from the Dean