Two new Canada Research Chairs for Faculty of Health researchers

Monday, March 18, 2024
Kaylena Ehgoetz Martens and Zahid Butt

Two Faculty of Health researchers have been named Tier 2 Canada Research Chairs: Dr. Kaylena Ehgoetz Martens from the Department of Kinesiology and Health Sciences, and Dr. Zahid Butt from the School of Public Health Sciences.

Ehgoetz Martens’ CRC is in Gait and Neurodegeneration, and she also received a Canada Foundation for Innovation John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF) grant. Butt’s CRC is in Interdisciplinary Research for Pandemic Preparedness.

Tier 2 Canada Research Chairs recognize exceptional emerging researchers as acknowledged by their peers for having the potential to lead in their field. JELF grants offer researchers the opportunity to acquire infrastructure to undertake innovative research. 

The CRCs are worth $100,000 per year for five years, plus another $20,000 per year for the Federal Research Fund, while the JELF award is $100,000.

Read more about each faculty member’s research: