Teaching awards and grants

Distinguished Teacher Awards

The Distinguished Teacher Award is Waterloo’s most prestigious teaching accolade and is awarded each year by the University Senate “in recognition of a continued record of excellence in teaching at the University of Waterloo.” The recipients are chosen by a committee of students, faculty, staff and alumni based on nominations from the university community.

Economics Distinguished Teacher Award recipients

Larry SmithLarry Smith

Emanuel CarvalhoEmanuel Carvalho

Anindya SenAnindya Sen

Centre for Teaching Excellence article - March 25, 2014

Waterloo Stories article - July 7, 2014

Learning Innovation and Teaching Enhancement grants

Congratulations to our faculty recipients of Learning Innovation and Teaching Enhancement (LITE) grants.

Faculty recipient Year Project title
Margaret Insley and Barbara Bloemhof 2012 Students’ Experiences of Learning Using a Problem-Based Instructional Approach
Geoffrey Malleck 2012 Offering Disciplined Creativity as a Deeper and Richer Learning Experience for Undergraduate Students at Waterloo

Read more about LITE grants in The Daily Bulletin, August 9, 2012.