Games Institute Org Chart

The Institute’s governance structure aligns with Policy 44 and is highlighted in the chart below.

Games Institute Organization Chart

Advisory Board

The GI’s Advisory Board acts as its Governing Body as defined in Policy 44, with the Vice-President, Research and International, as its Responsible Officers. The primary responsibility of the Advisory Board is to ensure the appropriate governance of the institute, the fulfilment of its goals and vision, to provide direction and advice on the development of strategic directions for the Institute, and the promotion of collaborative inter-and transdisciplinary research.

The Advisory Board’s membership includes the GI Executive and Associate Directors, three Waterloo Deans, GI researchers, and representatives of the GI’s industry and academic partners.

University of Waterloo Members


Charmaine Dean

Charmaine Dean Vice-President, Research and International - ex officio

Dr. Neil Randall

Neil Randall €“ Executive Director, Games Institute - ex officio

Sheila Ager - Profile

Sheila Ager  Dean of Arts €“ represented by Douglas Peers, Interim Dean of Arts - ex officio

Kristina Llewellyn

Kristina Llewellyn €“ Professor, History/Social Development Studies (Renison)

Professor Shana MacDonald

Shana MacDonald €“ Associate Professor, Communication Arts (Arts)

Photo of Lai-Tze Fan.

Lai-Tze Fan Assistant Professor, Sociology & Legal Studies (Arts)

Mark Hancock

Mark Hancock €“ Associate Director, Games Institute - ex officio

Mary Wells, PEng

Mary Wells €“ Dean of Engineering represented by David Clausi,
Associate Dean of Research, Engineering - ex officio

Oliver Schneider

Oliver Schneider €“ Assistant Professor, Management Sciences (Engineering)

Karim Karim

Karim Sallaudin Karim €“ Associate Vice-President, Commercialization and Entrepreneurship


Lili Liu

Lili Liu €“ Dean of Health - ex officio

Michael Barnett-Cowan

Michael Barnett Cowan Associate Professor, Kinesiology

Statford School  

Lennart Nacke

Lennart Nacke €“ Associate Director, Graduate Studies, Stratford School

Cayley MacArthur headshot

Cayley MacArthur €“ Associate Professor, Stratford School

Photo of Anita Layton

Anita Layton Associate Dean of Research, Mathematics (note: representing herself, not Math faculty)

External Academic Members  
Kishonna Gray

Kishonna Gray –€“ Associate Professor, Writing, Rhetoric, and Digital Studies, University of Kentucky

Aynur Kadir

Aynur Kadir €“ Assistant Professor, Department of Asian Studies and Lifeways in Indigenous Asia, University of British Columbia

Bart Simon

Bart Simon Institute Director, Milieux Institute, Concordia University

External Industry Members  
Evan Jones

Evan Jones Founder and Creative Director/Producer, Stitch Media, Toronto

Andrea Kerswill

Andrea Kerswill €“ Assistant Vice President Innovation, The Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan

Anti-Racism, Decolonization, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (ADE) Committee

To ensure the continued awareness and expansion of understanding of issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion, the GI formed the Anti-Racism, Decolonization, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (ADE) Committee in 2020.

The mandate of the ADE Committee is to establish policies, practices, and education for GI members, associates, partners, and colleagues. The committee is composed of faculty and student members of the GI and is supported by GI Executive and Associate Directors and GI Administration.

Please see the ADE Committee page for more information and member bios.


  • Gerald Voorhees, Communication Arts


  • Alessandra Luz, Computer Science

  • Arielle Grinberg, Management Sciences

  • Muhammad Umair Shah, Management Sciences

  • Oliver Schneider, Management Sciences

  • Ahmed Anwar, Management Sciences

Auxillary Members

  • Ben Feng, Statistics and Actuarial Science

  • Daniel Harley, Stratford School of Interaction Design and Business

Ex Officio

  • Agata Antkiewicz, Associate Director, Strategic Planning and Administration

  • Mark Hancock, Associate Director, Management Sciences

  • Neil Randall, Executive Director, Arts

Student Council

A goal of the GI has been to support and promote innovative, cross-disciplinary graduate training and mentorship for our HQP membership.

The Student Council is a governance structure that will assist us to respond to the needs and interests of the GI’s largest demographic more readily €“ our students.

Membership of the Students Council will be updated soon.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the Executive and Associate Directors, Associate Director, Strategic Planning and Administration (acting as Managing Director), the Chair of the Anti-Racism, Decolonization, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee, and two representatives from the Student Council and two representatives from the Games Institute faculty.

The student and faculty members of the Executive Committee must represent different Waterloo Faculties. The Executive Committee will make recommendations to the Games Institute leadership pertaining to the planning of the annual budget, research directions and programs, outreach and expansion of membership, day-to-day operations, etc.

Faculy Representatives  
Jennifer Whitson

Jennifer Whitson €“ Associate Professor, Sociology and Legal Studies

Jim Wallace

Jim Wallace €“ Associate Professor, School of Public Health Sciences

Student and Postdoctoral Representatives  
Nick Tibert

Nicholas Tibert €“ Kinesiology and Health Sciences

Nicholas Hobin

Nicholas Hobin €“ English Language and Literature

Abhishesh Homagain – Kinesiology and Health Sciences

Ex-Officio Members  
Gerald Voorhees

Gerald Voorhees Associate Professor, Communication Arts

Agata Antkiewicz

Agata Antkiewicz – Associate Director, Strategic Planning and Administration

Mark Hancock

Mark Hancock €“ Associate Director, Games Institute - ex officio

Dr. Neil Randall

Neil Randall €“ Executive Director, Games Institute - ex officio


The GI Administration is overseen by the Associate Director, Strategic Planning and Administration (acting as Managing Director) and includes project management, research communications, operations, community curation and technical support staff.

The Executive Director works closely and continually with the Administration staff to guarantee a tight, effective implementation of all GI activities.


The GI’s active membership currently includes over 150 members (student and faculty) from all six faculties and 20 departments. The overall GI membership doubled since its status changed from an Arts-based institute to a university-level research institute in early 2017.

Please see our members list for contact information and detailed bios of each member.