CS staff member Lawrence Folland named Honorary Member of the University of Waterloo

Tuesday, June 11, 2024

Former Cheriton School of Computer Science staff member, Lawrence Folland, has been named an Honorary Member of the University of Waterloo.

Every year at convocation, the University of Waterloo bestows select community members with honorary doctorates, distinguished professor emeritus and honorary membership. The honorary membership recognizes staff members for their outstanding service and is the highest honour they can attain.

Lawrence is being recognized for his “outstanding contributions to the University and his dedication to community outreach.”

From June 2003 to June 2022, Lawrence was the Technical Manager of the Computer Science Computing Facility (CSCF).  He also served as the President of the University of Waterloo’s Staff Association (UWSA) from November 2019 to October 2020. For the past 20 years, “his leadership has transformed how support for research computing is delivered in the School and he has created a model that other institutions now try to emulate,” says Raouf Boutaba, University Professor and Director of the Cheriton School of Computer Science. “I would like to congratulate Lawrence on this highly deserving honour.”

Read the full article from Computer Science to learn more.